JOURNAL AND PROCEEDINGS

OF

THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY.

OF

THE PROVINCE OF NOVA-SCOTIA.

Begun and Holden at Halifax, on Tuesday, the Thirty-first day of January, One Thousand Eight Hundred and Thirty-seven, in the Seventh Year of the Reign of Our Sovereign Lord WILLIAM the Fourth, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, King, Defender of the Faith, and of the United Church of England and Ireland, on Earth the Supreme Head.

IS Excellency Sir Colin Campbell, Lieutenant-Governor, having, by His Proclamations, dated the 22d June, 16th August, 11th October, 2d November, and 26th December, 1836, (hereunto annexed) prorogued and dissolved the last General Assembly, and called a new one, and having appointed the same to meet and sit at Halifax, this day, being the Thirty-first day of January, in the Year of Our Lord, 1837; the following are the names of the Members returned by the Sherifis of the Several Counties within this Province, to represent the same in the said General Assembly, summoned to meet as before mentioned, viz:--

MEMBERS RETURNED BY THE SHERIFFS.

County of Halifax.—Joseph Howe, William Annand.

County of Colchester .- Samuel George William Archibald.

County of Pictou.—George Smith, John Holmes.

County of Sydney .- Alexander McDougall, John Young.

County of Guysborough.—William Frederick DesBarres, Hugh McDonald. County of Cape-Breton.—James B. Uniacke. County of Richmond.—Lawrence Kavanagh.

County of Juste-au-Corps—William Young.

County of Cumberland.—Gaius Lewis, Alexander Stewart.

County of Hants.—Benjamin Smith, Henry Goudge.

County of King's County-Samuel Chipman, Thos. Andrew Strange Dewolf.

County of Annapolis.—Frederick A. Robishaw, William Holland.

County of Yarmouth.—Herbert Huntington.

County of Shelburne .- Winthrop Sargent.

County of Queen's County.—Joseph Freeman, Samuel P. Fairbanks.

County of Lunenburg.-William Rudolf, Garret Miller.

Township of Halifax.—Hugh Bell, Thomas Forrester.

Township of Truro.—Alexander L. Archibald.

Township of Onslow.—Alexander M. Upham.

Township of Londonderry.—Glorid Wilson McLellan.

Township of Picton.—Henry Hatton.

Township of Sydney.—Edmund M. Dodd.