Canadians choose their federal governments through general elections for the House of Commons, the leading law-making body in the country.

The Canadian Constitution requires the election of a new House of Commons at least once every five years. This is called a federal general election to distinguish it from the many other elections held in Canada.

At the next federal general election, 282 legislators, representing the same number of constituencies will be chosen to sit in the House of Commons. They are called Members of Parliament or M.P.s. The leader of the party with the most seats becomes Prime Minister and forms a Government, which thereafter remains answerable to the House for its policies and actions.

Under Canadian law, representation in the House of Commons must be reviewed at ten-year intervals, after each decennial census. The review normally results in the redrawing of a number of electoral boundaries. This work is carried out by an electoral redistribution commission appointed in each of the ten provinces and in one of the two territories.

The voting populations of constituencies varies from one to the other, and averages 52,000.

The Prime Minister chooses 25 or more individuals from his party to serve with him as Ministers in the Cabinet. Though one or two may be Members of the non-elective Upper House, the Senate, all usually are Members of the House of Commons or are elected to that House after their appointment.

The Cabinet, consisting of the Prime Minister and the other Ministers, discharges the executive functions of Government. Indi-