Report of the Canadian Delegates to the Twelfth Assembly of the League of Nations, Geneva

The Right Honourable R. B. Bennett, K.C., M.P., Secretary of State for External Affairs, Ottawa.

SIR,—We have the honour to submit the following report on the proceedings of the Twelfth Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the League of Nations which was held in Geneva from the 7th to the 29th September, 1931.

ORGANIZATION OF THE ASSEMBLY

Fifty-two of the fifty-four States Members of the League were represented at the Assembly. This number was later increased by the admission of Mexico to membership in the League, and by the participation in the work of the Committee considering proposals for an armaments truce of five non-Member States: Brazil, Costa Rica, Egypt, Turkey and the United States of America.

The Canadian delegation consisted of the Honourable Hugh Guthrie, Minister of Justice and Attorney-General; the Honourable C. P. Beaubien, Senator, and Mrs. Henry Pemberton Plumptre, Member of the Board of Education, Toronto, with the following as alternate delegates: the Honourable Philippe Roy, Minister for Canada in France; the Honourable Martin Burrell, Parliamentary Librarian, and Dr. W. A. Riddell, Dominion of Canada Advisory Officer accredited to the League of Nations.

After the President of the Council, M. Lerroux (Spain), had opened the proceedings with a brief review of the work of the League during the past year, the Assembly proceeded to the election of its President. M. Titulesco (Roumania), who had presided acceptably over the Eleventh Assembly, was re-elected President with twenty-five votes; twenty-one votes were cast for Count Apponyi (Hungary).

The election of the six Vice-Presidents and the Chairman of the six Committees, who together constituted the General Committee of the Assembly, resulted as follows:—

Vice-Presidents

M. Briand (France),

Viscount Cecil of Chelwood (British
Empire),

M. Yoshizawa (Japan),
Dr. Curtius (Germany),
Count Apponyi (Hungary),
(Colombia).

Chairmen of the Committees

First Committee (Legal and Constitutional Questions): M. Scialoja (Italy). Second Committee (Technical Organizations): M. Janson (Belgium). Third Committee (Reduction of Armaments): M. Munch (Denmark). Fourth Committee (Budget and Financial Questions): M. Politis (Greece). Fifth Committee (Social and Humanitarian Questions): Khan Alâ (Persia). Sixth Committee (Political Questions): M. Motta (Switzerland).