REPORT OF THE CANADIAN DELEGATES

TO THE

SEVENTH ASSEMBLY OF THE LEAGUE OF NATIONS

To His Excellency,

The Governor General in Council:

The Seventh Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the League of Nations met at Geneva on September 6, 1926, and closed its sessions on the 25th, having proved to be the shortest of the series.

Delegates were present from 48 out of the 55 states comprising the League. Seventeen states were represented by Foreign Ministers, two by Prime Ministers, and the others by men who had held more or less distinguished positions in their respective countries. The nations not represented were Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil. Costa Rica, Honduras, Peru and Spain.

Dr. Benes, Foreign Minister of Czechoslovakia and Acting President of the Council, opened the Assembly and reviewed briefly the work of the past year.

M. Nintchitch, Foreign Minister of Serbia, was elected President by 42 out of 48 votes cast.

On September 8, Germany, by a unanimous vote, was admitted to membership in the League, and her delegates, headed by Dr. Gustav Stresemann, took their seats in the Assembly on September 10.

The business of the Assembly was distributed as usual among six committees, upon each of which every nation represented is entitled to one member. The committees, with their officers and allotted work, were as follows:—

- 1. Legal and Constitutional Questions.—(Pacific settlement of international disputes; arbitration, security and reduction of armaments; proposals made by the Committee on the Composition of the Council as regards the method of election and tenure of the non-permanent seats). Chairman: M. Motta (Switzerland); Vice-Chairman: Dr. Limburg (Netherlands).
- 2. Technical Organizations.—(Work of the Economic and Financial Commission; work of the Organization for Communications and Transit; work of the Health Organization; work of the Committee on Intellectual Co-operation). Chairman: Mr. Desmond Fitzgerald (Irish Free State); Vice-Chairman: M. Veverka (Czechoslovakia).
- 3. Reduction of Armaments.—(Pacific Settlement of international disputes; arbitration, security and reduction of armaments; work of the Preparatory Commission for the Disarmament Conference). Chairman: M. Villegas (Chile); Vice-President: M. Buero (Uruguay).
- 4. Budget and Financial Questions.—Chairman: M. Titulesco (Roumania); Vice-Chairman: M. Vermaire (Luxemburg).
- 5. Social and General Questions.—(Protection and welfare of children and young people; traffic in opium and other dangerous drugs; protection of women and children in the Near East; Russian and Armenian refugee questions). Chairman: M. Mensdorff (Austria); Vice-Chairman; M. Parra-Perez (Venezuela).
- 6. Political Questions.—(Conclusion of an international convention on slavery; mandates). Chairman: M. de Brouckère (Belgium); Vice-Chairman: M. Nemours (Haiti).