# THE STRUCTURE OF THE UNITED NATIONS†

## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

### MEMBER NATIONS

Saudi Arabia Israel Afghanistan Denmark Sweden Dominican Republic Lebanon Argentina Syria Liberia **Ecuador** Australia Thailand Luxembourg Egypt Belgium Turkey Mexico El Salvador Bolivia Netherlands Ukraine Brazil Ethiopia Union of South Africa New Zealand France Burma U.S.S.R. Nicaragua Greece : Byelorussia United Kingdom Guatemala Norway Canada United States Pakistan Haiti Chile Panama Uruguay Honduras China Venezuela Paraguay Colombia Iceland Yemen Peru India Costa Rica Yugoslavia

### PRESIDENT

Cuba

Brig. Gen. Carlos P. Romulo, Philippines.

Iran

Iraq

#### VICE-PRESIDENTS

Czechoslovakia

Cyro de Freitas-Valle, Brazil; Dr. Tingfu F. Tsiang, China; Robert Schuman, France; Sir Mohammed Zafrullah Khan, Pakistan; Andrei Y. Vishinsky, Soviet Union; Ernest Bevin, United Kingdom; Dean Acheson, United States.

Philippines

Poland

#### COMMITTEES

General (Steering)-Composed of fourteen members, namely, the President of the Assembly, the seven Vice-Presidents and the committee chairmen listed below:

- 1. Political and Security. L. B. Pearson, Canada.
- 2. Economic and Financial. Dr. Hernan Santa Cruz, Chile.
- 3. Social, Humanitarian and Cultural. Dr. Carlos Eduardo Stolk, Venezuela.
- 4. Trusteeship. Hermod Lannung. Denmark.
- 5. Administrative and Budgetary. Alexis Kyrou, Greece.
- 6. Legal. Dr. Manfred Lachs, Poland.

(These six committees are composed of representatives of all member nations).

# THE SECURITY COUNCIL

### MEMREPS

United Kingdom (Permanent) France (Permanent) China (Permanent) United States (Permanent) ·India (Until 1952) Cuba (Urtil 1951) \*Yugoslavia (Until 1952) Norway (Until 1951) \*Ecuador (Until 1952) U.S.S.R. (Permanent) Egypt (Until 1951)

# MILITARY STAFF COMMITTEE

The Chiefs of Staff (or their representatives) of China, France, the U.S.S.R., the United Kingdom and the United States.

## ATOMIC ENERGY COMMISSION

The members of the Security Council and Canada.

# COMMISSION FOR CONVENTIONAL ARMAMENTS

The members of the Security Council.

†Excerpt from the New York Times, Friday, October 21, 1949.

\*Took seat Jan. 1, 1950.

January, 1950