Excise Tax

to tell you, sir, and all Members of the House that if I had had the opportunity to vote I would have voted with the Government.

Some Hon. Members: Hear. hear!

Some Hon. Members: Oh, oh!

Hon. Warren Allmand (Notre-Dame-de-Grâce): Mr. Speaker, I was at the same meeting as other Members. I respected the rule, stayed out and did not vote. I saw some of the people at the meeting that I was at come in here and vote.

I hope the admonition of the Chief Government Whip will be taken into consideration the next time.

[Translation]

Mr. Marcel Prud'homme (Saint-Denis): Mr. Speaker, on a point of order.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The Hon. Member for Saint-Denis (Mr. Prud'homme), on a point of order.

Mr. Prud'homme: Mr. Speaker, just a point of order. Perhaps we could avoid all these problems in the future if it were understood that when we are called in to vote in the House,—a duty that transcends all others—the House Committees do not necessarily have to meet. I had one this afternoon, and when the bells started to ring. I cancelled the committee as we are allowed to do under the Standing Orders. To avoid all these problems which could get worse in the future, those chairing committees, both legislative and standing, should realize that generally speaking, committees do not sit when we are called in to vote.

EXCISE TAX ACT

* * *

MEASURE TO AMEND

Hon. Gilles Loiselle (Minister of State (Finance)) moved that Bill C-20, an Act to amend the Excise Tax Act and the Excise Act, be read the first time and ordered to be printed.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt this motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

[English]

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon, Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Shall I dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Loiselle) which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 26)

YEAS

Members Andre Atkinson Attewell Reatty Reisher Bertrand Bernier Blackburn (Jonquière) Bjornson Blais Blenkarn Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Bouchard (Roberval) Bourgault Brightwell Browes Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Cadieux Cardiff Champagne (Champlain) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clifford Cole Collins Cook Corbett Crosby (Halifax West) Couture de Cotret DeBlois Della Noce Desjardins Dobbie Domm Duplessis Dorin Edwards Fretz

Fontaine Friesen Gray (Bonaventure - Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Halliday Hawkes Horning Hughes Johnson

Jourdenais Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast) Langlois Layton Lewis Loiselle Malone Martin (Lincoln) Mazankowski McKnight Mitges Nicholson Plourde Pronovost

Reimer Richardson Schneider Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Greene Gustafson Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hogue Hudon James Joncas Kempling Koury Larrivée Leblanc (Longueuil) Littlechild MacKay Marin Mayer McDermid

Gérin

Merrithew Monteith Nowlan Porter Reid Ricard Robitaille St-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton)