The Fourth Committee adopted the eleven-power draft resolution (Doc. A/C.4/L.306 and Add. 1) by a vote of 42 in favour, 1 against (Union of South Africa) and 10 abstentions (including Canada). Voting on individual paragraphs preceded the vote on the resolution as a whole. The eleven powers sponsoring this resolution were as follows: Afghanistan, Burma, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Pakistan, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Syria and Uruguay.

Text of the Fifteen-Power Resolution

The General Assembly, I to Jasmarevod ent tent

Having accepted, by resolution 449 A (V) of 13 December 1951 and by resolution 570 (VI) of 19 January 1952, the advisory opinion of the International Court of Justice with respect to South West Africa,

Recalling that the advisory opinion of the International Court of Justice with respect to the Territory of South West Africa sets forth, inter alia, that:

- (a) The Territory of South West Africa is a Territory under the International Mandate assumed by the Union of South Africa on 17 December 1920,
- (b) The Union of South Africa acting alone has not the competence to modify the international status of the Territory of South West Africa, and that the competence to determine and modify the international status of the Territory rests with the Union of South Africa acting with the consent of the United Nations,
- (c) The Union of South Africa continues to have the international obligations stated in Article 22 of the Covenant of the League of Nations and in the Mandate for South West Africa as well as the obligation to transmit petitions from the inhabitants of that Territory, the supervisory functions to be exercised by the United Nations to which the annual reports and the petitions are to be submitted,

Considering that, in accordance with the opinion of the International Court of Justice, the Union of South Africa is under an obligation to accept the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court as provided by Article 37 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, by Article 80, paragraph 1, of the Charter of the United Nations and by Article 7 of the Mandate for South West Africa,

Having reconstituted the Ad Hoc Committee on South West Africa consisting of the representatives of Norway, Syria, Thailand, the United States of America and Uruguay by General Assembly resolution 570 A (VI) of 19 January 1952, and by General Assembly resolution 651 (VII) of 20 December 1952 continued it on the same basis as before,

Having considered the reports of the aforesaid Ad Hoc Committee, document A/2261 submitted on 21 November 1952 and document A/2475 submitted on 16 September 1953,

Note - The present document incorporates the changes made in document A/C.4/L. 305/Corr. 1, which has been distributed in the provisional form only.