By 4 William IV., Chapter 55 (1834), assented to 5th May, 1835, which recited that a certain tract of land situate in the Western District * * * had been lately surveyed and laid off into Townships, the Townships of Moore and Sarnia (formerly St. Clair), Plympton, Enniskillen, Warwick, Brooke and Bosanquet, were attached to and formed part of the County of Kent, in the Western District.

The Revised Statutes of 1841 contain no mention of Lambton and reprint the Act of 1821, 2 George IV., Chapter 3, as being in full force.

By 4 and 5 Victoria, Chapter 10 (1841), which went into operation 1st January, 1842, a District Council for the Western District was formed, and it met, for the first time, at Sandwich on 11th February, 1842, representatives being present from Essex and Kent, in which latter County, as we have seen, the territory now known as Lambton County then formed a part.

By 10 and 11 Victoria, Chapter 39, assented to 9th July, 1847, the County of Kent ceased to be part of the Western District, and became known as the District of Kent.

By 12 Victoria, Chapter 78, assented to 30th May, 1849, Districts were abolished and by section 30, Kent and "Lambton" were formed as provisional Counties, and by section 31, as soon as the Court House and Gaol then "in the course of being erected, shall have been completed, the Governor of the Province may issue a Proclamation dissolving the union between the United Counties of Kent and Lambton and the County of Essex, and from thenceforth the said United Counties of Kent and Lambton shall form a union of Counties." This is the first time the name "Lambton," as a County, appears officially.

Under this Act certain Counties were to remain united until the Junior County should have a population of not less than fifteen thousand souls, (section 10), in which case it became entitled to a separate establishment of Court and County institutions. Kent and Lambton were so united as we have seen, Lambton being the Junior County, but from its geographical position it was deemed expedient to make provision for its separation, before it had attained the population required by law to entitle it to sever the judicial union between it and the County of Kent.

By 12 Victoria, Chapter 79, assented to May 30th, 1849, the County of Lambton was declared to include the Townships of Brooke, Dawn, Bosanquet, Enniskillen, Euphemia, Moore, Plympton, Sarnia, Sombra, and Warwick, and were united with Kent for the purpose of representation in the Legislative Assembly of Canada and a union of Counties made between Kent, Lambton and Essex.

The County of Kent withdrew in 1851, and Essex and Lambton were then known as "The United Counties of Essex and Lambton," the municipal "Capital" being at Sandwich, now the County seat of the County of Essex.

In 1914 the Dominion Archivist, Dr. Doughty, published the Constitutional History of Canada from 1791 to 1818, in which there is a map of Upper Canada drawn by W. Chewett, D.P. surveyor, by order of His Excellency John Graves Simcoe, the Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada, which shows the County of Kent as referred to in the Proclamation of 1792. It extended from the mouth of the Detroit River Northeastwards to the Westerly boundary of the County of Hastings, on the Trent River, and North as far as the North Pole, seemingly. It also took in what are now Michigan and Illinois, as well as Lakes Michigan and Superior, and even went West of that, as far as Canada then extended. Certainly the County of Kent was the largest County in Canada in those days.

The County of Suffolk is now part of the Counties of Kent and Elgin.

A reproduction of this very interesting map, on a small scale, will be found on the opposite page.