## 42 MURRAY: LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN MARITIME PROVINCES

"The settled parts of the province," wrote Murdoch in 1833, "and those where settlements are attempted have been further divided into Townships, some as large as the smaller counties and many more of smaller dimensions, and it is probable that this mode of division will be extended over the whole surface of the country as it is a favourite manner of allotment in North America, and it is very useful as a guide to the arrangement of the representation, the local assessment and a variety of other purposes." Haliburton stated in 1829 that a "township contains no certain definite quantity of lands nor assumes any prescribed shape as in Upper Canada where it is generally understood to extend nine miles in front and twelve miles in the rear; nor is it endowed with all those various corporate powers which the townships of New England possess, beyond the election of a representative; which privilege is not enjoyed by all. The inhabitants have no other power than holding an annual meeting for the purpose of voting money for the support of their poor."2 Governor Lawrence in his proclamation of 1758 declared that "townships are to consist of 100,000 acres," This seems to have been the usual size for those in the valley and on the Atlantic coast.3 On the other hand, the three townships of Pictou county contain over 200,000 acres each. Governor Lawrence also declared that every township containing fifty families would be entitled to send one representative to the Assembly. At the first Assembly it was proposed to restrict the qualification to twenty-five voters, but the Home Government insisted Since Lawrence's proclamation was addressed to on fifty.4 New Englanders it is probable that their views about townships

and Digby; Shelburne into Shelburne and Yarmouth; Cape Breton into Northern, Southern and Western, all of which have since been converted into counties. But other districts have been made—Barrington in Shelburne (1846), Argyle in Yarmouth (1856). Clare in Digby (1847), St. Mary's in Guysborough (1840), Chester in Lunenburg (1863), and East and West Hants (1861). These districts are now separate municipalities. Their separation, due in part to distance, may also be traced to difference in the origin of the inhabitants. Argyle and Clare are French, Barrington and Shelburne represent pre-loyalists and loyalists; Chester and Lunenburg, New Englanders and Germans; Guysborough and St. Mary's, New Englanders and Scotch.

<sup>1</sup> Murdoch, Epitome I. 29.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Haliburton, Nova Scotia, II. 9?

<sup>3</sup> Chester, for example,

Murdoch, History, II. 334.