COMMONS DEBATES

Division Messrs:

Barrett Basford Béchard Beer Bell Benson Blouin Borrie Breau Buchanan Caccia Cafik Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Code Comeau Comtois Corriveau Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Crouse Cullen Cyr Danforth Danson Deachman Deakon Downey Drury Dubé Dupras Duquet Fairweather Forest Forget Forrestall Foster Francis Gendron Gervais Gibson Gilbert Gillespie Givens Grav Grills Guay (St. Boniface) Guilbault Gundlock Haidasz Hales Hees Hopkins Howe Hymmen Isabelle Jerome Kaplan Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lachance Laflamme Lambert (Edmonton West) Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Langlois Laniel La Salle Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean)

Loiselle Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacEachen MacGuigan MacLean Macquarrie McBride McCleave McCutcheon McGrath McIlraith McIntosh McNulty McQuaid Mahoney Maior Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Marshall Monteith Moore Morison Munro Murta Nesbitt Noble Noël O'Connell Olson Orange Paproski Peddle Penner Pepin Prud'homme Reid Ricard Richard Richardson Ritchie Roberts Robinson Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Rvan Scott Serré Skoreyko Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) Smith (Saint-Jean) Southam Stafford Stanfield Stewart (Marquette) Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) St. Pierre Sullivan Thomas (Moncton) Tolmie Trudeau Trudel Turner (London East) Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Walker Watson Weatherhead Whicher Woolliams Yanakis-149.

Barnett Beaudoin Benjamin Brewin Broadbent Burton Caouette Dionne Fortin Gauthier Gleave Godin Harding Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lambert (Bellechasse)

Laprise Latulippe Lewis MacInnis (Mrs.) Matte Mazankowski Peters Rodrigue Rondeau Rose Saltsman Schumacher Skoberg Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Winch-30.

• (4:20 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried. Bill read the third time and passed.

POST OFFICE ACT

NAYS

Messrs:

AMENDMENTS RESPECTING STAMP AGENTS' COMMISSION, LETTER MAIL PREPARATION ARRANGEMENTS, EXTRA-ORDINARY SERVICES, MEMBERS' MAIL, ETC.

The House resumed, from Tuesday, June 1, consideration of the motion of Mr. Côté (Longueuil) that Bill C-240, to amend the Post Office Act, be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Mr. John Burton (Regina East): Mr. Speaker, I feel I should enter the debate on this bill because of the number of serious problems presently facing Canada's rural communities in particular. I raise this matter in this debate because it should be obvious that the post office plays a very essential and vital role in the rural communities of Canada. At the present time, rural Canada is going through a crisis. We see farmers leaving the land. They are being forced off their farms. The rural communities in many parts of Canada are disintegrating because of the lack of any cohesive policy designed to ensure the stability and the future viability of rural communities throughout all Canada. I suggest this is a matter of national concern. It is something which should concern all members of this House as well as the people of Canada.

It is perfectly obvious, of course, that in Canada there is a movement of people from the rural areas of the country to the urban centres. This movement has now reached such proportions that many people are wondering what is happening to Canada, and whether in fact the form this development is taking is a healthy one. Some predictions are being made that, if present trends in Canada are continued, we will see a concentration of population in a very small number of supercities in a few locations of Canada. If we are to retain and build viable rural communities in Canada one of the first essential

[The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel).]