(d) "Head of the department" means the Minister of the Crown for the time being presiding over the department and includes the Speakers of the Senate

and House of Commons.

(e) "Inside Service" means and includes that part of the Civil Service in or under the several departments of the Executive Government of Canada and in the offices of the Auditor General, the Clerk of the Privy Council, the Governor General's Secretary, the Public Archives, and the Commission of Conservation, employed at the city of Ottawa, or at the Experimental Farm Station or the Dominion Astronomical Observatory near Ottawa, and the staff of the Civil Service Commission employed at Ottawa. 1908, s. 3.

(f) "Outside Service" means and includes the other officers, clerks and employees included in the public service, not being part of the Inside Service. R.S.

1906, s. 4.

15

(g) "Public Service" means and includes all officers, clerks or employees in the service of the Crown or of Parliament.—(New).

PART I.

W

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION.

3. (1) There shall be a Commission, to be called the Civil Service Commission, consisting of not more than three members appointed by the Governor in Council.

(2) The Governor in Council may appoint one of the

25 commissioners to be the chairman of the Commission.

(3) The rank and standing of each commissioner shall Commission, be that of a deputy head. The chairman shall be paid a salary of six thousand dollars, and each of the other commissioners five thousand dollars; such salaries shall be 30 paid out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund of Canada. Each commissioner shall hold office during good behaviour, but shall be removable by the Governor General on address of the Senate and House of Commons. 1912, c. 10,

amended.

35 Provided, however, that any commissioner hereafter appointed shall hold office during good behaviour for a period of ten years from the date of his appointment, but shall be removable by the Governor General on address of the Senate and House of Commons, and shall cease to hold 40 office upon reaching the age of sixty-five years.

4. (1) The duties of the Commission shall be,—

Duties of Commission.