Halifax School for the Blind .- (Murdoch Square.)

William Murdoch, Esq., who died in London, in 1867, left by will £5000, (N. S. Currency) towards endowing a School for the Blind. This led to other gifts, and the erection of a building at a cost of £3000, capable of accommodating thirty pupils. A new wing to the main building was erected in 1890, and the School now has accommodation for fifty-five pupils. There are forty-one pupils in attendance. The Governments of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland make annual appropriations towards the support of the Institution. This Institution is really a School. Managers for 1892—M. H. Richey, Provincial Secretary ex officio, John Duffus, W. C. Silver, W. H. Neal, George Thompson, George Mitchell, Hon S. L. Shannon, H. H. Fuller, James C. Mackintosh, E. D. Meynell, Jairus Hart, W. M. Miller; President, W. C. Silver; Vice President, J. C. Mackintosh; Secretary and Treasurer, E. D. Meynell; Superintendent, C. F. Fraser; Attending Physician. Dr A. W. H. Lindsay; Ophthalmic Physician, Dr S. Dodge; Dental Surgeon, A. C. Cogswell.

Halifax Protestant Industrial School.

Intended to teach and train for some useful occupation boys who might otherwise be left to grow up as "roughs" and "criminals." It is under the management of a committee of gentlemen. Gentlemen's committee—Chairman, S. M. Brookfield, Adan Burns, Hon. W. J. Stairs, Rev. E. B. Moore, M. C. Grant, H. P. Burton, William Robertson, R. J. Sweet, and Rev. F. Almon; Treasurer, M. C. Grant; Secretary, R. J. Sweet. Surgeon, Dr. Lindsay. Superintendent, Mr. Norman. Matron, Mrs. Norman.

Home for the Aged.

This place is intended to afford a comfortable retreat to respectable women of advanced years, whose means of livelihood are very limited. Eighty dollara a year paid by the inmate or by a friend secures all the comforts of a home. The Institution owes its existence to the thoughtful liberality of the late Wm. Murdoch. General Committee—Mis. R. W. Fraser, President; Mrs. G. Hatart, Mrs. J. H. Liddell Mrs. White, Mrs. Ross, Mrs. Manning. Mrs. J. Y. Payzant, Mrs. Saunders. Mrs. J. H. Anderson, Miss. Clarke, Miss Layers, Miss Black, Miss Jacobs, Miss McColl, Miss Nordbeck, Treasurer; Miss Forest. Secretary; Trustees—Hon. D. McN. Parker, M. D., Rufus J. Sweet, Esq., James Farquhar, Esq., Matron, Miss Hall.

Womens' Home.

Chairwoman, Mrs. John Starr; Secretary, Mrs. Charles Starr Treasurer, Miss L. Lathern; Matron, Miss Bently; Committee, Mrs. Manning. Mrs. Hierlihy, Mrs. Farquharson, Mrs. G. Shaw, Mrs. Wm. Stairs, Mrs. H. H. McPherson, Miss Amy Johnson, Mrs. Dr. Burns, Mrs. R. W. Fráser, Dr. Dewitt, Mrs. Edward Smith, Mrs. E. C. Fairbanks, Mrs. S. F. Huestis. Advisory Committee, Messrs. R. W. Fraser, James Farquhar, John Starr. Physician, A. J. Cowie, M. D.

Protestant Orphans' Home.

Protestant orphans, two years old and upwards, are admitted to this Institution. It enjoys considerable endowments. Comfortable homes in the country are secured and sought out for boys and girls as they grow up. Secretary, Mrs. R. Pickford. Treasurer, Miss B. Taylor. Committee, Mrs. John Esson, Mrs. James Scott, Mrs. R. Ross. Mrs. J. J. Hunt, Mrs. H. Harris, Mrs. D. McPherson, Miss Forrest, Mrs. A. Forrest, Mrs. J. Liddell, Mrs. Stubbing, Mrs. Adams, Mrs. Huestis. Matron, Mrs. Butler. Governors—Hon. Robt. Boak, Hon. A. G. Jones, Hon. Dr. Parker, R. W. Fraser, S. M. Brookfield, George Mitchell, R. J. Sweet, G. C. Francklyn, Treasurer.

B

Co