## APPENDIX XX

## NON-SELF-GOVERNING TERRITORIES—TRANSMISSION OF INFORMATION

## Resolution of the Assembly, December 14, 1946

The General Assembly, on 9 February, 1946, approved a resolution on Non-Self-Governing Peoples. By this resolution the Secretary-General was requested to include in his annual report on the work of the Organization a statement summarizing such information as may have been transmitted to him by Members of the United Nations under Article 73e of the Charter relating to economic, social and educational conditions in the territories for which they are responsible, other than those to which Chapters XII and XIII apply.

The General Assembly notes that information has been transmitted by the Governments of Australia concerning conditions in Papua; France concerning conditions in French West Africa, French Equatorial Africa, French Somaliland, Madagascar and Dependencies, French Establishments in Oceania, Indo-China, French Establishments in India, New Caledonia and Dependencies, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Morocco, Tunisia, the New Hebrides under Anglo-French Condominium, Martinique, Guadeloupe and Dependencies, French Guiana, and Réunion (without prejudice to the future status of these territories); New Zealand concerning conditions in the Cook Islands (without prejudice to any interpretation of the expression "Non-Self-Governing Territories" in view of the fact that the Cook Islands are an integral part of New Zealand); the United Kingdom concerning conditions in Barbados, Bermuda, British Guiana, British Honduras, 1 Fiji, Gambia, Gibraltar, Leeward Islands, Mauritius, St. Lucia, and Zanzibar Protectorate; and the United States concerning conditions in Alaska, American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, Panama Canal Zone,<sup>2</sup> Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

The General Assembly also notes that the following Governments have declared their intention of transmitting information: Belgium on the Belgian Congo; Denmark on Greenland; the Netherlands on the Netherlands Indies, Surinam and Curacao; New Zealand on the Tokelau Islands; lands Indies, Surinam and Curacao; New Zealand on the Tokelau Islands; and the United Kingdom on Aden (Colony and Protectorate), Bahamas, and the United Kingdom on Aden (Colony and Protectorate, Basutoland, Bechuanaland Protectorate, British Somaliland Protectorate, Brunei, Cyprus, Dominica, Falkland Islands<sup>3</sup>, Gold Coast (Colony and Brunei, Cyprus, Dominica, Falkland Islands<sup>3</sup>,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>In this connection reference is made to the *Journal of the United Nations*, No. 5, 10 December, 1946. Supplement No. 4, pages 79-80.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>In this connection reference is made to document A/200, dated 26 November, 1946.

<sup>3</sup>In regard to the Falkland Islands the delegation of Argentina at the twenty-fifth meeting of the Committee, made a reservation to the effect that the Argentine Government did not recognize British sovereignty in the Falkland Islands. The delegation of the United Kingdom made a parallel reservation, not recognizing Argentine sovereignty in these islands.