ledge of municipal law would warrant complete consolidation and arrangement. If British Columbia legislators are as full of suggestions for the alteration of municipal law as their brethren are in Ontario, they certainly need lots of sea room for their diversion in that sort of manœuvering.

The quinquennial election of Benchers to the Law Society of Upper Canada will be held on April 2nd next, when thirty members of the Bar of Ontario will be chosen to represent their fellow practitioners. Whilst the position is an honorable one, its duties are very onerous to those who conscientiously perform them, and the office is to a greater extent than it should be, a thankless one.

We believe that all the present Benchers are willing to serve again, which is perhaps somewhat surprising, as many of them have spent a great deal of time, energy and thought in the work assigned to them, and received but little thanks Their names have, under the statute, been sent round for it. with the voting papers. In addition to these names a number of others have been brought to the attention of their brethren as desirable candidates. We give all these names, so far as they have come to our ears up to the time of writing. Some of them are excellent, and we shall be glad to see them on the Law Society Bench; some are no more entitled to the distinction and are perhaps less so than others whose names are not mentioned, and some may be so entitled by and by. The names referred to are : Nicol Kingsmill, O.C., E. F. B. Johnston, Q.C., J. J. Foy, Q.C., W. B. McMurrich, Q.C., R. C. Clute, Q.C., F. Arnoldi, Q.C., J. B. Clarke, Q.C., W. D. McPherson, George Kappele, P. H. Drayton, H. H. Dewart (Toronto); J. A. Barron, Q.C., (Lindsay); W. D. Hogg, Q.C., (Ottawa); John McIntyre, Q.C., (Kingston); E. B. Edwards (Peterboro); E. Sidney Smith, Q.C. (Stratford); Wm. Kerr, (Cobourg); J. P. Thomas (Belleville); Matthew Wilson, Q.C., (Chatham).

Various changes have been suggested in connection with this election and the tenure of office by the Benchers. Some of these are as follows: (1) The division of the Province into