DIRECTORY

OF

THE COUNTY OF ONTARIO,

FOR 1869-70.

INTRODUCTION.

In laying this volume before the public it would perhaps, be too presumptuous to assert that it is wholly free from errors. This could scarcely be safely said of any work of the kind ever published. The compilers content themselves with the statement that no pains or trouble have been spared on their part to secure accuracy, and that whatever errors (if any) may be discovered in the work they will turn out of a

trivial and immaterial character.

> 37 28

60

66 67

32

67

69

73

73

168

.....

The county of Ontario is situated in nearly the centre of the Province. It is a long narrow strip only two townships wide, and is remarkable on the map for its extreme length compared with so small a frontage. It extends from Whitby Harbour, on Lake Ontario, on the South, to the Severn River, bounding the township of Rama, on the North, a distance of about 80 miles, part of its Eastern and Western boundaries skirting the margin of Lakes Scugog, Simcbe, and Couchiching. On its Eastern boundary it has the counties of Durham and Victoria, and on the West the rich county of York. Ontario is divided into two Ridings, the North and the South-for Parliamentary purposes, and each of these comprise the following Municipalities: North Ontario, embraces the townships of Reach, Scugog Island, Brock. Uxbridge, Scott, Thorah, Mara, and Rama. South Ontario, the townships of Whitby, East Whitby, and Pickering, and the Corporations of the town of Whitby and Village of Oshawa. The whole formed part of what was formerly known as the United Counties of Ontario, York and Peel until Ontario was set off in 1853 as a separate county. Each Riding is represented in the House of Commons and Legislature of the