rence suburbs and the continuation thereof, and through the middle of the street called the Congregation-street, Notre Dame-street, and along the middle of the same westerly to Proclamation of the Congregation-street, Note Dame-street, and along the initiate of the saint westerly to Proclamation of the middle of St. Joseph-street to the Six Alured Clarke, river; and that the said Westerly Ward shall comprehend all the rest of the said truct of dated 7th May parcel of land within the limits above described: And that the first of the said towns or 1792. boroughs, to be called the town or borough of Three Rivers, shall comprehend all that tract or parcel of land (being part and parcel of the aforesaid county of St. Maurice) bounded in the front by the river of St. Lawrence, and in the rear by a line parallel to the general course of the said front, at the distance of 160 chains from the westerly point of the mouth of the river of St. Maurice, on the easterly side by the said river St. Maurice, and on the westerly side by a line rectangular to the aforesaid rear line, running from a point therein at the distance of 160 chains from the westerly bank of the said river of St. Maurice, until it strikes the said river St. Lawrence; and that the second and last of the said towns or boroughs, to be called the town or borough of William Henry, shall comprehend all that tract or parcel of land (being part and purcel of the aforesaid county of Richelien) bounded in front by the river Sorel, otherwise called the river Richelieu or Chambly, in the rear by a line parallel to the easterly side of the Royal-square of the said town, at the distance of 100 chains therefrom, on the northerly side by the river of St. Lawrence, and on the southerly side by a line parallel to the southerly side of the Royal-square of the said town, at the distance of 120 chains therefrom. And know ye also, that our said lieutenant governor bath also declared and appointed, and doth hereby declare and appoint, that the several counties of Cornwallis, Devon, Hertford, Dorchester, Buckinghamshire, Richelieu, Surrey, Kent, Huntingdon, York, Montreal, Effingham, Leinster, Warwick, St. Maurice, Humpshire, Quebec and Northumberland aforementioned, shall and may be represented in the assembly of the said province by two members or representatives, to be duly chosen in and for each of the same counties respectively, and the counties of Gaspé, Bedford and Orleans, by only one member or representative for each of the said counties respectively; and the cities or towns of Quebec and Montreal respectively by four members or representatives for each of the said cities or towns, to wit, two for each subdivision thereof respectively, and the town or borough of Three Rivers by two members or representatives for the said town or borough, and the town or borough of William Henry by only one member or representative for the said town or borough; of which our loving subjects and all others concerned are to take due notice, and govern themselves accordingly. In testimony whereof, we have caused these our letters to be made patent, and the great seal of our said province of Lower Canada to be hereunto affixed. Witness our trusty and wellbeloved Alured Clarke, esq. our lieutenant-governor and commander in chief of our said province of Lower Canada, and major-general commanding our forces in North America, &c. &c. &c.; at our castle of St. Lewis, in the city of Quebec, this 7th day of May, in the year of our Lord 1792, and in the 32d year of our reign.

Hugh Finlay, Acting Secretary.

Appendix, Nº 12.

An ACT to provide for increasing the Representation of the Commons of this Province of Upper Canada, in the House of Assembly;—[Passed 7th March 1820.]

WHEREAS from the rapid increase of the population in this province, the representation thereof in the Commons House of Assembly is deemed too limited; Be it therefore enacted, by the King's most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of the Province of Upper Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of Great Britain, intituled, "An Act to repeal certain parts of an Act passed in the fourteenth year of His Majesty's reign, intituled 'An Act for making more effectual provision for the Government of the Province of Quebec in North America, and to make further provision for the Government of the said Province," and by the authority of the same, that so much of the Parliament, be and the same is hereby repealed.

2. And be it further enacted, by the authority aforesaid, that from and after the end of the present Parliament, each and every county now formed or organized, or which shall or may hereafter be formed or organized, the population of which shall amount to one thousand souls, shall be represented in the Provincial Parliament by one member; and when the population of such county or counties as aforesaid shall amount to four thousand souls, the said country or counties shall be represented by two members; and that each and every town in which the quarter sessions for the district are or may by law be holden, and in

which there shall be one thousand souls, shall be represented by one member.

3. And be it further enacted, by the authority aforesaid, that the population required to be contained in each and ever, lown or county for the purposes aforesaid, shall be ascertained by the returns of the several town clerks of the number of souls in the several towns and townships of this province, certified copies of which returns the clerk of the peace of the district in which such town, township or county, shall or may be situated, is hereby 560. X x 3

Nº 12. Act to provide for increasing the Representatives of the Commons of Upper