The Department of External Affairs announced today that Canada has decided to make an annual grant of \$5,000. to the International Commission on Radiological Protection, the ICRP, and presented its first contribution to the organization in Sutton, England, on May 9, 1973.

Canada attaches high priority to environmental problems and expressed great concern at the Stockholm Conference on the Environment about the need to achieve universal standards for the protection and improvement of the quality of the environment. The ICRP has played a major role in establishing world-wide standards for exposure to ionizing radiation since it was established by the Second International Congress on Radiology in 1928. With the rapid developments in the field of nuclear energy and the increasingly widespread use of sources of ionizing radiation, the ICRP should continue to provide valuable guidance in these aspects of environmental control.

In the control of atomic energy, a primary consideration is the prevention of over-exposure to ionizing radiation. The choice of permissible exposure limits is a very complex matter requiring thorough study by experts. Many countries, especially in the developing world, require assistance in establishing guidelines for ionizing radiation as they often lack the indigenous capacity and expertise to achieve this. Through the ICRP the advice of experts of a large number of countries is brought to bear on the question of radiation dosage and made available to individual countries. ICRP recommendations on permissible exposures to ionizing radiation are used by most national radiation protection bodies responsible for formulating specific regulations to fit local requirements.

Canadian agencies which make use of the recommendations of the ICRP are the Department of National Health and Welfare, the National Research Council, the Atomic Energy Control Board and Atomic Energy of Canada Limited as well as some provinces. There also for many years have been Canadian experts on the Commission and the present Chairman is Dr. C.G. Stewart of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited's Chalk River facility, and Dr. H.B. Newcombe, also of Chalk River, is currently a member of the Commission.