2 -

| Tanganyika | 2 |
|------------------|----|
| Basutoland | 1 |
| Bermuda | 1. |
| British Honduras | 1 |
| Fiji | 1 |
| Sierra Leone | 1 |
| Somaliland | 1 |
| Swaziland | 1. |

Applications for these awards were submitted first to the appropriate agencies in the students own countries for preliminary selection. As a result of this preliminary selection by the various agencies in the countries concerned a total of 209 nominations was sent forward to the Canadian Committee for final selection. The majority of the scholarships are awarded at the post-graduate level for a period of two years and candidates will be placed in universities throughout Canada. The awards will cover transportation costs, tuition fees and living expenses of the scholars while in Canada.

The Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship
Committee was appointed in December 1959 to guide the implementation
in Canada of the recommendations on scholarships approved by the
Commonwealth Education Conference held in Oxford, England, in July
1959. The Chairman of the Committee is Dr. G. F. Curtis, Dean of
Law, University of British Columbia, and other members represent
academic institutions in Canada. The Departments of External Affairs
and Trade and Commerce are also represented on the Committee and
representatives of the National Research Council and the Canada
Council are associated with the Committee in a consultative capacity.
Specialized advisory committees in the various academic fields assist
the main committee in assessing the qualifications of candidates.

... 3