SPANISH

COUNTRIES: Spain

Every Latin American country except

Brazil

POSTS: Madrid, Buenos Aires, Bogota,

Mexico, Caracas, Guatemala, Havana, Lima, Quito, San Jose,

Santiágo

Spanish is the language of more than 200 million people. It is the official language of Spain and 19 countries of the American continent. It is also spoken in the Philippines and in some countries of Africa. It is the second most important language in the United States.

As with the rest of the Romance languages (French, Portuguese and Italian), Spanish is derived from the Latin once spoken in the great Roman Empire. Latin was mixed with the languages of the various regions of Spain to form Catalan and then Castilian, the Spanish spoken today.

Castilian was first spoken only in the central and northern regions of Spain but spread to the rest of the Iberian Peninsula (Spain and Portugal), during the 11th, 12th and 13th centuries. In the 15th century, Castilian was considered to be the instrument par excellence for achieving political unity in Spain and became its national language.

In 1492, Elio Anotonio De Nebrija published the first Spanish grammar. Today Spanish is the most widely used of all the Romance languages and is the world's fourth language after Mandarin, English and Hindi.