

TRIPARTITE PACT SIGNED AT BERLIN, SEPTEMBER 27, 1940

(Referred to in Declaration by United Nations)

The Governments of Germany, Italy and Japan, considering it as a condition precedent of any lasting peace that all nations of the world be given each its own proper place, have decided to stand by and co-operate with one another in regard to their efforts in Greater East Asia and regions of Europe respectively wherein it is their prime purpose to establish and maintain a new order of things calculated to promote the mutual prosperity and welfare of the peoples concerned.

Furthermore, it is the desire of the three Governments to extend co-operation to such nations in other spheres of the world as may be inclined to put forth endeavours along lines similar to their own, in order that their ultimate aspirations for world peace may thus be realized.

Accordingly, the Governments of Germany, Italy and Japan have agreed as follows:

- I. Japan recognizes and respects the leadership of Germany and Italy in the establishment of a new order in Europe.
- II. Germany and Italy recognize and respect the leadership of Japan in the establishment of a new order in Greater East Asia.
- III. Germany, Italy and Japan agree to co-operate in their efforts on aforesaid lines. They further undertake to assist one another with all political, economic and military means when one of the three contracting Powers is attacked by a Power at present not involved in the European war or in the Chinese-Japanese conflict.
- IV. With the view to implementing the present pact, joint technical commissions, members of which are to be appointed by the respective Governments of Germany, Italy, and Japan, will meet without delay.
- V. Germany, Italy and Japan affirm that the aforesaid terms do not in any way affect the political status which exists at present as between each of the three contracting parties and Soviet Russia.
- VI. The present pact shall come into effect immediately upon signature and shall remain in force ten years from the date of its coming into force. At the proper time before expiration of said term the high contracting parties shall at the request of any one of them enter into negotiations for its renewal.*

^{*} The following States have adhered to the Tripartite Pact of Berlin: Hungary (Nov. 20, 1940), Rumania (Nov. 22, 1940), Slovakia (Nov. 24, 1940), Bulgaria (March 1, 1941), Croatia (June 15, 1941). Yugoslavia, which signed the Pact on March 25, 1941, refused later to ratify.