paramount consideration in the employment of the staff and in the determination of the conditions of service shall be the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. Due regard shall be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible". To this end, every person joining the Secretariat must take an oath "to exercise in all loyalty, discretion and conscience the functions entrusted to me as an international civil servant of the United Nations, to discharge these functions and regulate my conduct with the interests of the United Nations only in view, and not to seek or accept instructions in regard to the performance of my duties from any government or other authority external to the organization".

The staff of the Secretariat is divided into three categories: undersecretaries, professional, and general service. In 1963 there were 19 undersecretaries and, within this same category, 38 directors, and 93 principal officer positions. Persons for professional-staff positions, which numbered about 1,835 in 1963, are, like the under-secretary category, recruited on an international basis under the terms of the Charter, the staff rules and regulations and the relevant Assembly resolutions. The third category, general service, consisted of approximately 2,300 positions in 1963. General-service personnel are normally recruited locally, either at United Nations headquarters in New York or at the field office in which they will serve. Each member state is assigned a "desirable range" of posts for the approximately 1,400 posts which are subject to geographical distribution. In 1963 Canada's "desirable range" was 31-42 posts and 32 Canadians were actually employed in this category.

The organization of the Secretariat is illustrated in the chart included in this chapter. During the major part of 1963, the incumbents of senior posts in the Secretariat were:

Executive Office of the Secretary-General: Under-Secretary for General Assembly Affairs and Chef de Cabinet, C. V. Narasimhan (India);

Office of Legal Affairs, Constantin Stavropoulos (Greece);

Office of the Controller, Bruce Turner (New Zealand);

Office of Personnel, Sir Alexander McFarquhar (Britain);

two Under-Secretaries for Political Affairs, Ralph J. Bunche (U.S.A.) and Dragoslav Protitch (Yugoslavia);

Department of Political and Security Council Affairs, Vladimir P. Suslov (U.S.S.R.);

Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Philippe de Seynes (France);

Department of Trusteeship and Information from Non-Self-Governing Territories, G. K. J. Amachree (Nigeria);

Office of Public Information, Hernane Tavares de Sa (Brazil);