board of transport commissioners. We are in complete agreement with that recommendation because we feel there is no more important judicial body in the Dominion of Canada, nobody who has more to do with the welfare of most Canadians, than the board of transport commissioners. The minister has brought before the house a resolution proposing to remunerate the members of the board sufficiently to attract the very best men. I presume that if the best men are attracted by the salaries that are to be offered we can reasonably expect the board to be not only efficient but active. I think one of the things the royal commission suggested was that they be more active, that they should engage in more active investigation and keep themselves thoroughly informed at all times. Under these circumstances, because of the fact that we must have the very best men we can get and that once we get them and pay them well we can expect better service from them, we will support the resolution.

Mr. A. J. Brooks (Royal): I should like to ask the minister how many members there are on the board. I understand that they are appointed for ten years. I should also like to know what length of time each member still has to serve. We talk about improving the membership of the board, but if the members still have a number of years until the end of their terms how are we going to get new men on the board in the meantime?

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Beaudoin): Perhaps these questions might be asked more properly when we are in committee.

Mr. Brooks: I thought I might as well ask them while we were discussing the matter.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Beaudoin): I understand that we are discussing it now, but we are considering a motion that Mr. Speaker leave the chair for the house to resolve itself into committee of the whole on the resolution, and I do not think questions are in order at this point. Is it the pleasure of the house to adopt the motion?

Mr. Green: No.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Chevrier) which was agreed to on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Anderson Argue Ashbourne Balcom Bater Beaudoin Benidickson Beverstein Blackmore

Blanchette Blue Boisvert Boucher Bradette Bradley Breithaupt Brown (Essex West) Railway Act

Bryce Langlois (Gaspe) Lapointe Byrne Leduc Cameron Campney Lefrancois Cannon Leger Carroll Lesage Carter Little Cauchon Low Cavers Macdonald (Edmonton

Chevrier East) MacDougall Cloutier MacInnis Coldwell MacKenzie

Corry MacLean (Cape Breton Cote (Matapedia-Matane) North and Cote (St. Jean-Iberville- MacNaught North and Victoria)

McCann

McCubbin

McCulloch

McIlraith

McIvor

Muskoka)

McDonald (Parry Sound-

Napierville) Cote (Verdun-La Salle) Cournoyer

Crestohl Croll Cruickshank Darroch Dechene

McLean (Huron-Perth) Decore

McMillan Dewar McWilliam Dickey Major Masse Dube Monette Dumas Mott Murray (Cariboo)

Evre Fair Nixon Ferrie Noseworthy Follwell Parent Fournier (Hull) Picard Fulford Pinard Garland Poulin Garson Pouliot Gauthier (Lake St. John) Proudfoot Gauthier (Lapointe) Prudham Gauthier (Portneuf) Quelch

Gauthier (Sudbury) Ratelle George Richard (Ottawa East) Gibson Rilev

Gillis Rinfret Gingras Roberge Goode Robertson Gourd (Chapleau) Robinson Gregg Rooney

Hansell Ross (Hamilton East)

Harris (Grey-Bruce) Rousseau Harrison St. Laurent Shaw Healy Hellyer Simmons Helme Sinnott Henderson Smith (Queens-

Henry Shelburne) Herridge Smith (York North) Hetland Stewart (Winnipeg North) Hosking

Stick Huffman Stuart (Charlotte)

Hunter Studer James Thomas Jeffery Tremblay Johnston Valois Jones Viau Jutras Warren Kickham Weaver Kirk (Antigonish-Weir

Guysborough) Welbourn Kirk (Digby-Yarmouth) Whiteside Knight Whitman Knowles Winkler LaCroix Winters Lafontaine

Wood Laing Wright-164.