CALGARY SOUTH to consist of all that portion of the incorporated city of Calgary, south of the southern boundary of Calgary North, and that part of Township 23, Range 1, West of 5th, which lies west of the Bow River.

The constituency of BOW RIVER to consist of the present rural area of Bow River, together with the rural area of former Calgary West excepting Township 24, Range 2, West of the 5th, plus Township 24, Ranges 19 to 25, Township 23, Ranges 19 to 25, Township 22, Ranges 19 to 25, part of Township 21, north of the river in Ranges 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 25. The last area described was formerly in Medicine Hat.

The constituency of MEDICINE HAT to be as follows:

Starting at the junction of the Red Deer River with the Alberta-Saskatchewan border to follow the south bank of the Red Deer river in a westerly direction to the point where it intersects the Township line between Township 24 and 25, west along the said line to the west side of Range 18, south to the north side of Township 20, and west to the Bow River. Follow the Bow River in a south easterly direction to the point where it intersects Range 16, following the range line south to the American border and east on the American border to the eastern Alberta border.

The constituency of LETHBRIDGE to be as fololws:

Commencing on the north-east corner of Township 11, Range 17, due south on the American border west to the west side of Range 30, north to the north side of Township 2 and east to the Belly River. Follow the Belly River to approximately the centre of the east border of Township 8, Range 25, thence due north to the top of Range 11, due east to the point of commencement.

The constituency of MACLEOD to consist of the former area, plus the rural area of former Calgary East with the exception of that part of Township 23, Range 1, which lies west of the Bow River.

## (Signed) J. W. WELBOURN."

Mr. Harkness moved in amendment that the boundaries of CALGARY WEST, CALGARY EAST and BOW RIVER in the Province of Alberta remain as at present.

And the question having been put on the proposed amendment of Mr. Harkness it was, on a show of hands, resolved in the negative on the following division: Yeas, 8; Nays, 19.

The motion of Mr. Welbourn to approve the Third Report of the Province of Alberta sub-committee was adopted on division.

At 3.00 o'clock p.m. the Committee adjourned to meet again at 9.00 o'clock p.m. this day.

## THURSDAY, June 26, 1952.

The Committee met at 9.00 o'clock p.m. The Chairman, Hon. Walter Harris, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Applewhaite, Argue, Blair, Dewar, Fair, Fleming, Fulton, Gauthier (Sudbury) Gauthier (Partneuf), Harkness, Harris (Grey-Bruce) Johnston, Kirk (Antogonish-Guysborough), Knowles, MacNaught, McIlraith, McWilliam, Murphy, Murray (Cariboo), Nowlan, Picard, Ross (Souris), Viau, Whiteside, Whitman, Winkler.

In attendance: Mr. Nelson Castonguay, Chief Electoral Officer.

The Committee resumed consideration of the schedule to the proposed bill to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons.