a trusteeship agreement for South West Africa. Canada opposed the resolution to keep the racial policies of the Union under surveillance, as it seemed unlikely to serve any effective purpose.

Four members of the Commonwealth—Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and the United Kingdom—completed arrangements during the year for a combined trans-Antarctic expedition which is scheduled to take place between November 1957 and February 1958.

The troubled international situation continued to have its effect on the foreign and defence policies of Commonwealth members. Australia and New Zealand withdrew their armed forces from the Middle East when the United Kingdom retired from the Suez Canal Zone, and redeployed them in Southeast Asia, principally in Malaya. The United Kingdom, in a historic departure from previous policy, decided to base army and air force units in Europe in peace-time. Ceylon, India, and Pakistan, together with Indonesia and Burma, sponsored the first Asian-African Conference at Bandung in March, and the United Kingdom and Pakistan joined with Iran, Iraq, and Turkey in setting up a collective security system in the Middle East.

It was announced at the end of the year that the Commonwealth Prime Ministers would meet in London in June 1956, and that the Prime Minister and Foreign Secretary of the United Kingdom would visit Ottawa in February.

13