MCALLSTERELECTED

In Legislative Building

Tonight ceremonies will take place to officially open the UNB Model Parliament. Speaker of the House Prof. Hugh Whalen will administer the signing of the Oaths of Allegience and President Colin B. Mackay will act as Governor General to read the Speech from the Throne. Parliamentary procedure will be followed closely in the various Notices and then the Reply to the Speech from the Throne will be moved and debated.

2nd. Vice-Pres.

PEGGY COLPITTS

PRÉSIDENT AAA

JIM

ROBINSON

The government will introduce two bills, the Liberal opposition one, and the Socreds one in the ensuing Saturday morning and afternoon sessions. It is expected that a lively debate will follow each motion.

The Progressive Conservatives have announced their Cabinet to be as follows: Prime Minister, David MacKeen; Secretary of State and House Leader, Elsworth Briggs; Minister of Finance, Eric McAlary; Minister of Trade and Commerce, George Bastin; Minister of Transport, Dick Steeves; Minister of Natural Resources, George Hayes; Minister of Defence, John Hansen; Postmaster General, George Burtt; Minister of Veterans Affairs, Gil Oldham; Minister of Health and Welfare, Joan Young; Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, Leonard Johnson; Minister of Justice, Neale Hargrove; Minister of Fisheries, Keith Allen; Minister of Labour, Carl Wallace; Minister of Organization, Malcolm Harris; Minister of Defence Production, Gino Blink.

The University has procured the Provincial Legislative Build-ings for the Model Parliament. The galleries will be open to students and anyone else interested in watching the proceedings. The Parliament opens a 7:30 tonight; sessions will be held from 10:00 to 12:00 on Saturday morning and from 1:00 to 5:00 in the afternoon.

MARITIME TITLE TO S.D.U.

St. Dunstan's University won the Maritime Intercollegiate Debating Championship last Monday night defeating the University of New Brunswick debaters on a unanimous decision of the three judges. Both teams had been undefeated in intercollegiate competition during the regular schedule and were playing off for the Abegweit Trophy and the right to represent the Maritimes in the National finals this coming weekend in Ottawa. The debate was held at St. Dunstan's University in Charlottetown before an audience of three hundred people.

The St. Dunstan's debaters, Leo Peddle and Donald McDougall upheld the negative on the resolution "that the Federal government should encourage American capital investment in Canada". The UNB debaters defending the affirmative, were (Continued on page 2)

SKI DANCE

The Saturday Evening semi- an enthusiastic ski-bum, plan formal dances held in the Stu- to be thar and meet some of dent Center since the start of those crazy skiers. Remember this term have been a welcome the more the merrier; all are success. This Saturday even-ing your U.N.B .Ski Club is B. Cing U. this Saturday evenhappy to be sponsoring the ing at the Student Center . . Why not? dance.

President Elect



GORDON MeALLISTER



GEORGE BASTIN



BILL RAY * * * SECRETARY



HE COUNCIL



PHIL BIRD

RON PEARSALL



MIKE O'CONNOR



INTERMEDIATE

CAMPBELL



DAVID DWYER



CLIFF EMBLIN

JUNIOR



DICK STEEVES





ALFRED WALLACE



SOPHOMORE

BARRY YOELL



KATHERINE HART



EILEEN STIVEN

OPPONENT LEFT FAR BEHIND; RAY SELECTED AS VICE-PRES.

Gordon McAllister, fourth year Electrical Engineering Student and past Vice-President of the SRC received the solid backing of over 80% of the student body who took part in the recent election. McAllister defeated his only opponent in the campaign, Barry Toole, by over 500 votes. Approximately 68% of the UNB students cast their ballots in the election; of these, 630 voted for McAllister, 115 for Toole.

1st. Vice-Pres.





VIVIAN GRANT

tives was the election of the officers of the Amateur Athletic Association. In this election, Jim Robinson was selected for President and Bob McNutt, Vice-President. A Plebiscite, sponsored jointly by NFCUS and WUSC was also voted upon. The question to be decided was whether the students should pay a sum of \$2.00 which would be divided equally between the two organizations to pay for organization, administration and student scholarship. The Plebiscite was passed; 330 votes to

With McAllister on the execu-

tive will be: Bill Ray, First

Vice-President; Peggy Colpitts Second Vice-President; George

Bastin, Treasurer; and Vivian Grant, Treasurer. Both Colpitts

and Bastin were elected by ac-

Held at the same time as the election of the SRC representa-

clamation.

Here is a complete list election results.	of the
For President:	
Gordon McAllister	630
'Barry Toole	115
For 1st Vice-President:	
Bill Ray	481
Jim McLeod	261
E 0 3 TH to The 13	

For 2nd Vice-Pre	esident:	
Peggy Colpitts	(acclamation)	
For Secretary::		
Vivian Grant	464	
Jackie Liddle	261	
For Treasurer:		
George Bastin	(acclamation)	
President of A.A.		

Jim Robinson	429
Art Cowie	291
Vice-President of A.A.A.:	
Bob McNutt	397
Bill Patterson	323
Senior Reps.:	
Phil Bird	86
Ron Pearsoll	66
Mike O'Connor	96

429

292

	Intermediate Reps:	
	Don Campbell	7
	Dave Dwyer	5
	Cliff Emblin	4
namen and the second	Hans Foerstal	8
	Junior RA:	
	Dick Serves	13
7	Joannins oung	11
1	Al Wallace	9
STREET, ST. ST. ST.		

I om Doyle	93
Sophomore Reps:	
Sandy McAllister	75
Barry Yeoll	88
Kathryn Hart	81
Eileen Stiven	71
Sophomore Class President:	
Biddy Wilson	97
Frederic Horsely	78
Plebiscite:	
Yes	330

Pictures Unavailable "Weather" or not you are Intermediate Rep.: Hans Foerstal Joanie Young Sandy McAllister

PHOTO CONTEST

No

that some of the eager photo- Foerstal, Residence, 9004.

The Camera Club announces | graphers that sported their that the deadline for the Winter cameras during the Carnival will Carnival Photo Contest has been enter their work in the contest. extended to Saturday, March 9, Notices are still up; information 1957. The response thus far has been disappointing but it is hoped can also be had from Hans