

news release

Date

JANUARY 26, 1982

For release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

WORLD COURT CONSTITUTES GULF OF MAINE CHAMBER

The Minister of Justice, the Honourable Jean Chrétien, and the Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mark MacGuigan, announced today that the International Court of Justice has ordered a Chamber of five judges to be constituted to hear the dispute between Canada and the United States concerning the maritime boundary in the Gulf of Maine area. The dispute involves jurisdiction over the rich fisheries and hydrocarbon resources of Georges Bank.

Five judges of the International Court of Justice have been elected to sit on the Gulf of Maine Chamber: André Gros of France; Hermann Mosler of the Federal Republic of Germany; Roberto Ago of Italy; Stephen Schwebel of the United States and Jose Maria Ruda of Argentina. Judge Ruda will give place in due course to the judge ad hoc to be nominated by Canada.

Under the Statute of the International Court of Justice, Canada has the right to name a national judge to sit on the Chamber. The Government has formally nominated Maxwell Cohen, former Dean of the Faculty of Law at McGill University and former Canadian Chairman of the International Joint Commission. Professor Cohen will be sworn in as a member of the Chamber at a ceremony to be held in The Hague within the next few days.

The case should come on for oral hearings before the Chamber during the summer or autumn of 1983. A final decision on the maritime boundary line might be expected within four to six months following the completion of the oral phase of the case.