Appendix 1

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

Meeting No. 40

THURSDAY, MARCH 19, 1998

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade met informally at 9:10 o'clock a.m., this day, in Room 371 of the West Block, the Chair, Bill Graham, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Colleen Beaumier, Bill Graham, Raymonde Folco, Gurmant Grewal, Ted McWhinney, Bob Mills, Julian Reed, Daniel Turp.

Other Member present: Janko Peric.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: James Lee and Gerald Schmitz, Research Officers.

Members of the Delegation: From the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs: Karen Gainer, Field Director, Zagreb. From Croatia: Natalija Bukovac, Karlovac, member of SDF(Social Democratic Party); Luciana Sterle, Opatija, member of IDS (Istrian Democratic Assembly); Dijana Putar, Ivanac, member of HNS (Croatian People's Party); Dragica Skreblin, Opatija, member of LS (Liberal Party); Vesna Bencevic, Tordinci, member of HDZ (Croatian Democratic Party) Damir Hrastovic, Zagreb, member of HSS (Croatian Peasent Party); Slobodan Popovic, Vukovar, member of the SDSS (Independent Democratic Serbian Party); Zdeslav Matacic, Sibenik, member of HSLS (Croatian Social Liberal Party); Tomislav Klauski, Zagreb, journalist - Novi List Daily. From Bosnia and Herzegovina: Advan Repak, Sarajevo - Federation; Mladen Popovic, Sarajevo - Federation; Alisa Ibricic, Tuzla - Federation; Danijela Dabic, Banja Luka - Republic Srpska; Tanja Kremenovic, Banja Luka - Republic Srpska; Vanja Malidzan, Banja Luka - Republic Srpska; Predrag Bajovic, Banja Luka - Republic Srpska. In accordance with its mandate under Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to meet with a delegation from Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Karen Gainer introduced the delegation and made an opening statement and, with other members of the delegation, answered questions.

At 9:58 o'clock a.m., the Vice-Chair Bob Mills, took the Chair.

At 10:10 o'clock a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Janice Hilchie Clerk of the Committee