Observers

Observer status is not provided for in the UN Charter. Over the years, however, the Secretary-General has granted such a status to non-member states which have had some form of association with the UN system, e.g. membership in the Specialized Agencies. Five countries currently maintain observer missions in New York: Switzerland, Monaco, the Holy See, the Republic of Korea and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea.

Through special resolutions, the General Assembly has also granted observer status to six associations of states: the OAS, the Arab League, the OAU, the EEC, the COMECON and the Islamic Conference. The Palestine Liberation Organization was also granted observer status by the General Assembly in 1974. At the thirty-first session, the General Assembly agreed to the application of the Commonwealth Secretariat for observer status, which Canada co-sponsored. Observer status was also granted to the South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO).

Greece

UNITED NATIONS GROUPINGS 2.

Regional groups* a.

PERMANENT MEMBERS OF THE SECURITY COUNCIL

Britain

France China U.S.S.R.

WESTERN EUROPE (and other States)**

Australia Austria Belgium Canada Denmark Finland Germany, Federal

Iceland Ireland Italy Luxembourg Mata Netherlands Republic of

New Zealand Norway Portugal Spain Sweden Turkey

EASTERN EUROPE

Albania German Democratic Ukrainian S.S.R.

Bulgaria Republic Yugoslavia

Byelorussian S.S.R. Hungary
Poland
Czechoslavakia

These groups are unofficial and have been established to take account of the purposes of resolutions 1990 and 1991 of the XVIIIth session of the General Assembly.

^{**} France and Britain are members of the WEO group but the United States does not participate. In regional meetings of various committees, particularly the Second and Fifth Committee, both the U.S. and Japan attend WEO meetings. For electoral purposes to subsidiary bodies (mostly economic and social) observers are considered part of WEO group and occupy seats allocated to WEO.