## FINAL ACT OF THE INTERNATIONAL NORTHWEST ATLANTIC FISHERIES CONFERENCE HELD IN WASHINGTON FROM JANUARY 26 TO FEBRUARY 8, 1949.

The Governments of Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Newfoundland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America, represented by plenipotentiary delegations;

Having accepted the invitation extended to them by the Government of the United States of America to participate in an International Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Conference; and

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and the International Council for the Exploration of the Sea having accepted the invitation extended to them by the Government of the United States of America to send observers to the said Conference:

Appointed their respective representatives, who are listed below by countries, and by organizations in the order of alphabetical precedence:

## (Here follow the names of the representatives)

The Conference met at Washington on January 26, 1949, under the Temporary Chairmanship of W. M. Chapman, Chairman of the Delegation of the United States of America.

Under the authority of the President of the United States of America the following officers were designated: Clarke L. Willard, Associate Chief, Division of International Conferences, Department of State, Secretary General of the Conference; Charles I. Bevans, Deputy Assistant for Treaty Affairs, Office of the Legal Adviser, Department of State, Treaty Adviser to the Conference; and Donald J. Chaney, Chief Counsel, Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior, Technical Secretary of the Conference.

At the opening session the Conference agreed unanimously to accept the staff members of the Secretariat provided by the Government of the United States of America.

Wilbert M. Chapman, Chairman of the Delegation of the United States of America, was elected Permanent Chairman of the Conference at the first session held on January 26, 1949, and Klaus Sunnanaa, Chairman of the Delegation of Norway was elected Vice-Chairman of the Conference at the same session.

The general committees established by the Rules of Procedure adopted provisionally at the opening session were constituted as follows:

## EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

(Here follow the names of members of the Committee)

## COMMITTEE ON CREDENTIALS

(....)