HALLVILLE — The community here was out in force Sat., Jan. 19 to celebrate winter with a raft of races, contests, eats and refreshments.

W. I

Ø

Ø

Ø

The Hallville Winter Carnival attracted an enthusiastic crowd to the village community hall and skating rink despite bone-chilling temperatures. Following is a list of winners in the various events.

For the skating races for boys and girls five years and under with 14 girls and only two boys competing first place was awarded to Mandy Payne, second place to Eileen Ardron and third place to Christine Ellesworth.

The six- to seven-year-old boys' match ended with Christopher Allen in first place, Bradley Conlin in second, and Jeffrey Schoenfeld in third. Amanda Thompson won first place in the 6-7 girls' category with Beth Ardron in second and Renee Lacompte third.

Michael Allen took tops in the 8 to 9-year-old contest with Josh Clarke came in first at 12.0 seconds

Coopman pulling up third. In the girls match, Cara Berends took first, while Sarah Chamberlain followed in second and Leslie Conlin behind her.

In the 10-11-year race, Tyler Windsor came in first, Dean Kerr second, and Paul St. John third. Sarah Foley won first in the girls' 10-11-year division and Stephanie Loughlin second.

The 12-13 year-olds' race was won by Randy Erwin with second place awarded to Andrew Roach.

Greg Chamberlain took first in the waiter race, while Jason Schoenfeld came in second and Brian Walker third. The waitress race was won by Rachel Ellesworth, Colleen Weedmark and Diane Ardron respectively.

Peter Schoenfeld had the advantage in the egg toss contest with Pierre Lacompte pulling up second.

The chainsaw contest was won by Aaron Scott at 11.0 seconds for 37 cc and under. For 39-57cc, Don McRoberts behind him and Chris and Doug Scott second with 12.5.

The Winchester Press Wed., Jan. 30, 1991

With 57cc and over, Dave Clarke was awarded first place at 6.2 seconds and Doug Scott pulled up a close second with 6.3. In the Swede saw competition Lee Savage won with 36.0 seconds

Hallville Winter Carnival

in the men's catagory, Linda DeSerres came up first with 34.0 in the ladies' category and Randy Erwin won the boys' competition with 1.47.

The cross-cut saw competition, (with a two-man team) was won by Mark Puddy and Jason Schoenfeld at 17 seconds in the men's division, Debbie Harper and Linda DeSerres at 23 seconds in the ladies' contest and Randy Erwin and Andrew Roach taking first with 46.9 seconds in the boys' category.

Overall winners of the GT races were Randy Erwin and Falyn Day and the jelly bean jar contest was won by Kelly Vandewint. The puck shoot-out was awarded to Wayne Erwin, Jeremy Kerr, Andrew Roach and Josh McRoberts.

Terri Hoy was chosen as Carnival Queen and Janna Fawcett picked for Princess.

arnival Queen is Terri Hoy. Terri was crowned by last year's Carnival Queen, Alanna Vandewint. The 1991 Carnival Princess is Janna

The Winchester Press Wed., Jan. 23, 1991

111 ils

Anxious and cold Carnival Princess contestants

