

PRESS RELEASE

INFORMATION DIVISION

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

OTTAWA - CANADA

NO. 64

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 22, 1949.

The Department of External of Affairs announced today that the Canada-United Kingdom Continuing Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs will neet in Ottawa beginning September 23.

The United Kingdom representatives at the meeting will be:

Sir Alexander Clutterbuck, High Commissioner of the United Kingdom in Ottawa.

Sir Henry Wilson Smith, Second Secretary of the Treasury.

Mr. F. G. Lee, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Food.

Mr. S. L. Holmes, Second Secretary, Board of Trade.

The Canadian representatives will be:

Mr. M. W. Mackenzie, Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Mr. J. G. Taggart, Deputy Minister of Agriculture.

Mr. J. J. Deutsch, Director, International Economic Relations, Department of Finance.

Mr. A. F. W. Plumptre, Head of the Economic Division, Department of External Affairs.

The Committee was established in September, 1948, for liaison between official representatives of Canada and the United Kingdom on commercial and economic matters of mutual concern, and especially on measures to ensure the greatest trade possible between the two countries. The first meeting of the Committee took place in London on January 25-28, 1949. Further discussions within the terms of reference of the Committee were held in July of this year. The functions of the Committee are purely advisory.