ormation Series

## CANADA AND INTER-GOVERNMENTAL NUCLEAR ENERGY ORGANIZATIONS



The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), are the two principal inter-governmental nuclear energy organizations. Officials from the Nuclear, Non-proliferation and Disarmament Implementation Agency deal with the effective operation of these organizations and ensure that Canadian interests are represented.

Established in 1957, the IAEA, based in Vienna, is the world's central intergovernmental forum for cooperation in peaceful uses of nuclear energy; its membership now totals 128 states. A substantial part of the Agency's work relates to the development of nuclear power, including safety and waste management aspects, and to verification that nuclear technology is being used solely for peaceful purposes. Almost half its work, however, focuses on programs that can be applied to everyday life for the preservation of foodstuffs, more productive agriculture, better health, more effective industry, radiation protection and public information.

The Agency verifies that Member States are in compliance with international treaties meant to ensure that nuclear materials are not diverted for military purposes. This pioneering role in preventing the further spread of nuclear weapons involves deploying some 200 inspectors worldwide to more than 1000 installations and other locations covered under the IAEA Safeguards program, including a certain number of nuclear installations in the states possessing nuclear weapons. At the other end of the spectrum, the IAEA's programs to foster peaceful nuclear applications are closely linked to its established role to facilitate the transfer of technology. Many of these programs contribute directly or indirectly to the internationally accepted goals of sustainable development.

Canada is a founding member of the IAEA and its membership dues in the form of its contribution to the IAEA Regular budget currently are about \$8 million per year. The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Affairs provides Canada's membership dues and the Canadian International Development Agency contributes about \$2 million annually to IAEA's Technical Cooperation Fund.

The NEA, based in Paris, was established in 1958 under the name of the European Nuclear Energy Agency. It received its present designation in 1972, when Japan became the first non-European full member. NEA membership today consists of OECD Member Countries totalling 27 states from Europe, America and Australasia.

The primary objective of the NEA is to promote cooperation among governments in furthering the development of nuclear power as a safe, environmentally acceptable and economic energy source. This is achieved by encouraging harmonization of national regulatory policies and practices, assessing the contribution of nuclear power to the overall energy supply, and setting up international R&D programs and joint undertakings. In these and related tasks, the NEA works in close collaboration with the IAEA, with which it has concluded a Cooperation Agreement.

Canada joined the NEA in 1975 and has been participating actively in its activities ever since. Membership dues are about \$500,000 per year. The main decisionmaking organ is NEA's Steering Committee. A representative from Natural Resources Canada is the Canadian delegate on the Committee.

Dept. of Foreign Affairs Min. des Affaires étrangères MAR 3 U /IIIN Return to Departmental Library

1998

125 Sussex Drive Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Fax: (613) 944-0075

**O** C T O B E R

doc CA1 EA358 98C13 ENG

Retourner à la bibliothèque du Ministère

Nuclear, Non-proliferation and Disarmament Implementation Agency (IDN)