New Secretary-General

58. Heads of Government unanimously elected Mr. Don McKinnon to succeed Chief Anyaoku as Commonwealth Secretary-General for a four-year term beginning 1 April 2000. They paid warm tribute to Chief Emeka Anyaoku for his exceptional services to the Commonwealth as Secretary-General over the last ten years and during his near 34 years of service to the Commonwealth. They believed that his contribution to the strengthening of the Commonwealth would be long remembered.

Next Meeting

59. Heads of Government reaffirmed their earlier decision to accept the kind offer of the Government of Australia to host their next Meeting in 2001.

International Convention Centre Durban 15 November 1999