Guide to Montreal

INTRODUCTION

THE Dominion of Canada, as a political community, dates from July 1st, 1867. Upon that day the British North America Act came into force by royal proclamation. This imperial act was passed upon petition of the colonies then known as Upper Canada and Lower Canada (now Ontario and Quebec) and of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. Provision was also made for the admission of "Rupert's Land and the Northwest Territories." Rupert's Land included all the territory draining into Hudson Bay and belonging to the Hudson Bay Company.

In 1870 the Province of Manitoba was formed out of the territory and the remainder called the Northwest Territories. In 1871 British Columbia joined the Confederation conditionally upon the construction of a railway across

Canada.

In 1873 Prince Edward Island joined the Union.

Subsequently the Northwest Territories were further sub-divided. In 1876 the District of Keewatin was established. In 1881 the boundaries of Manitoba were enlarged, and in 1882 Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabasca organized.

In 1898, after the great gold discoveries of 1897, the Yukon was erected into a separate territory.