The bill as originally proposed stood, the amendment being defeated.

The House of Assembly elected in 1843 was presided over by William Young—afterwards Sir William Young, chief justice of Nova Scotia. The following were the members of the house of assembly representing, respectively, the counties and townships. The prefix * to the name indicates that the member in question had occupied a seat in a former parliament.

Counties.

Halifax-*Joseph Howe, and Law. O'C. Doyle.

Colchester—*John Ross.

Pictou-*John Holmes and George R. Young.

Cumberland-*Stephen Fulton, and *R. McG. Dickey.

Hants—*Benj. Smith, and Hon. L. M. Wilkins.

Kings-*T. A. S. DeWolf, and Jno. C. Hall.

Annapolis—Hon. James W. Johnston, attorney-general. Digby—Francis Bourneuf.

Yarmouth—*Herbert Huntington.

Shelburne—Obadiah Wilson.

Queens-S. P. Freeman, and Ino. Campbell.

Lunenburg-*John Creighton and Chas. B. Owen.

Sydney—George Brennan and Patrick Power.

Guysborough—*W. F. DesBarres, and *J. J. E. Marshall. Cape Breton—James B. Uniacke.

Richmond—

Inverness-*Wm. Young, and Jas. McKeagney.

Townships.

Halifax—*Jas. McNab, and Andrew M. Uniacke.

Truro-William Flemming.

Onslow-*John Crowe.

Londonderry—*G. W. McLellan.

Pictou-*Henry Blackadar.

Amherst—Thomas Logan.

Windsor-James D. Fraser.