## Speaker's Ruling

members of the house that if the contents of this bill were referred to a committee, the committee would have to report back to the house and there would be an opportunity of debating that report and all that took place in the committee. The proposed amendment of the hon. member for Lake Centre is sufficiently, in material respects, similar to the amendment moved earlier in this debate by the leader of the opposition to be inadmissible.

For the reasons which I have given, I am ruling the amendment out of order.

Mr. Diefenbaker: Mr. Speaker, I regret that I must respectfully appeal from your ruling.

Mr. Speaker put the question as follows:

Mr. Garson moved that Bill No. 144 be now read a second time. Mr. Diefenbaker moved, seconded by Mr. Green, that all the words after "that" to the end of the question be deleted and the following be substituted therefor:

While this house is at all times anxious to assist in remedying any defects in the law with respect to combinations in restraint of trade that operate against the public interest, it regrets that His Majesty's ministers have failed to comply with the mandatory requirement of publication of reports under the Combines Investigation Act and that before inviting parliament to enact the said bill have failed to give any assurance that there will be no similar breach of the constitution in respect of this or any other act passed by the parliament of Canada.

I ruled the amendment out of order on the ground that it was not relevant to the act which is now under consideration, and also on account of its similarity to the amendment of the leader of the opposition (Mr. Drew), which was recently before the house.

From this ruling the hon. member for Lake Centre (Mr. Diefenbaker) and others appealed. The question is on the Speaker's ruling.

The house divided on the question: Shall the Speaker's decision be sustained? And the decision of the Chair was sustained on the following division:

## YEAS

## Messrs:

Anderson
Applewhaite
Arsenault
Ashbourne
Bater
Belzile
Benidickson
Bennett
Black (Chateauguay-
Huntingdon-Laprairie)
Blanchette
Blue
Boisvert
Boivin
Bonnier

[Mr. Speaker.]

Boucher Bourget Bradette Bradley Breithaupt Brown (Essex West) Byrne Cameron Campney Carroll Carter Cauchon Cavers Claxton Cleaver

Argue

Balcer

Blair

Brooks

Bryce

Cardiff

Casselman

Charlton

Catherwood

Beyerstein

Blackmore

Black (Cumberland)

Fleming

Fraser

Gillis

Gagnon

Graydon

Cloutier Corry Cote (Verdun-LaSalle) Cournoyer Croll Cruickshank Darroch Dechene Dewar Dickey Dion Dube Dumas Elderkin Eudes Evre Fauteux Ferrie Follwell Fournier (Hull) Fournier (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Fulford Garson Gauthier (Lake St. John) Murray (Oxford) Gauthier (Sudbury) Gauthier (Lapointe) Gauthier (Portneuf) George Gibson (Hamilton West) Gingras Gingues Gosselin Gour (Russell) Gregg Harris (Grey-Bruce) Healy Hellver Helme Henderson Hetland Howe Huffman Hunter Isnor James Jefferv Jutras Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough) Kirk (Digby-Yarmouth) Lafontaine Laing Langlois (Berthier-Maskinonge) Langlois (Gaspe) Lapalme Lapointe Larson Leduc Lefrancois Leger Lesage Little

East) MacDougall MacLean (Cape Breton North and Victoria) MacNaught Macnaughton McCann McCubbin McCulloch McCusker McDonald (Parry Sound-Muskoka) McIlraith McIvor McLean (Huron-Perth) McWilliam Major Maltais Masse Maybank Mayhew Monette Mott Murray (Cariboo) Nadon Nixon Picard Pinard Pouliot Ratelle Richard (Gloucester) Richard (St. Maurice-Lafleche) Richard (Ottawa East) Riley Rinfret Roberge Robertson Robinson Rooney Ross (Hamilton East) St. Laurent Sinclair Sinnott Smith (Queens-Shelburne) Smith (Moose Mountain) Stuart (Charlotte) Studer Thomson Tremblay Valois Viau Ward Warren Weir Welbourn Whiteside Winkler Winters Wood-148. NAYS Messrs: Church Coldwell Courtemanche Covle Diefenbaker Drew Fair Browne (St. John's West) Ferguson

Macdonald (Edmonton

2122