UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA REVIEW

Archbishop of Ottawa, Chancellor of the University of Ottawa :---

ź

ŝ.

÷

ç

YOUR GRACE:—Your annual visit to this institution which owes so much of its prosperity to your kind protection and benevolent assistance, has ever been one of the most welcome events of the scholastic year. Your presence with us to-day on the occasion of the inaugural ceremony, the first since the disastrous fire of December last, is for us an occasion of joy and gratitude. We are not indeed unmindful of the many favors which Your Grace has either personally bestowed on the University of Ottawa, or secured through your powerful influence We feel proud of our *alma mater*, of her lofty rank among institutions of her kind, of her wonderful vitality under trying ordeals. We know that future generations will point to your revered name and recognize in you, after God, the author, the custodian, the father of it all.

The outlook for the future is bright ; the white walls of the New Arts building loom majestic against the sky; the Theological, Philosophical and Arts courses are in full swing, and the number of students in attendance has not at all diminished Their loyalty to *alma mater* we feel to be an earnest of their loyalty to you and to the faith and the authority which you represent.

May Almighty God, to whom be thanksgiving, long spare you to revisit our home, to watch and ward the destinies of the University of Ottawa.

THE STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA.

His Grace replied in both languages congratulating the boys on their good fortune and exhorting them to continued effort.

The Debating Society has been organized for another year, In so doing the members have acted wisely and well, and show that they have at heart the best interests of the society. This early organization combined with the enthusiasm displayed at the annual meeting, augurs a most successful year for the Ottawa University Debating Society. The officers elected were :--

Director, Rev. J. H. Sherry, O.M.I., D.D.; President, J. Torseney, 'o6; Secretary, C. J. Jones, '07; Treasurer, R. J. Byrnes, '05.

Councillors, J. McNeil, '07; J. J. Freeland, '05; T. J. Sloan. '06.

111