Time to

Sell silver

Color Night has grown shorter. trophy for the outstanding male In fact, by next year the Athletic athlete. Pomerleau, recruited department awards banquet should be quite brief. Color Night's abbreviation is a result of the Athletic department's decision to decrease the number of intercollegiate sports.

winner of the Bakewell trophy given to female athlete of the year, may no longer have the opportunity to win other awards. In addition, Brian McFadden, player and Barry Stafford was Margo Howe and Mary Burzminski, winners of the Golden hockey Bear. Bear track trophy, may never awards.

the Judo and cross-country squads because like track, and field hockey, they are tentatively slated for cancellation next year.

Still, some sports will be around and athletes will pick them up. But as department head Ed Zemrau stated at the dinner, "We've all had to make sacrifices." Too bad, though, that one man's meal money is another person's program.

Moreover, questions of priority and criteria were not the only ones to paint Color Night black. The yearly event could not be held, as usual, in the Macdonald because some of last year's award winners ripped up their rooms in a gesture of appreciation. Of course UAB money, able to ease the bind, largely paid for their celebration.

still stand out. Wrestler Pierre time recording award winners.

Over the last few years Pomerleau won the Wilson from the weight room by coach John Barry, won a second ClAU title this February. The forestry graduate won eight out of nine meets this year.

Other awards were handed out to Ben Dur, Forrest Kennerd, Kerry O'Connor, Dean Kmech, and John Urschel for excellence in football. Larry Riggin won the Purcel award for the most valuable Bears' hockey chosen as the most improved

Also, soccer man Marc have another chance to pick up Olivieri won the Kevin Robbins trophy for the most valuable player and swimmer Brent Their participation next DeBrisay won the Beaumont year may be limited along with trophy for the best general record.

Volleyball honors for the most outstanding team contribution were given to Terry Danyluk. Another Beaumont award, this one for the best wrestling record, was won by Glen Purych. The outstanding freshman wrestler prize was won by Al Harman.

Lyle Kuchmak won the men's cross country award and Jean Mustard also won the Sue Neill field hockey trophy.

Men's basketball trophies went to Jim Bonin and Brent Patterson. Women's awards went to Panda basketball ace Trix Kannekans and the cross country award to Janice Turner. The Misako Saito gymnastics award went to Noreen Skoreyko and the volleyball award to Karen Sharratt.

In any case next year's In any case the real winners sportswriters will have a simpler

*Ukes face off with b-ball men

On Wednesday April 2 the will take on the wrestling team in an exhibition hockey game at Varsity Arena.

The Basketball team scored an upset 8-7 victory in last week's action against the Volleyball

the Ukrainian national team now available for comment. compete for the grapplers.

Leading the wrestlers will by Golden Bear basketball squad John Barrykov (goal), Yuri Yurickchev (defence), and the high-flying forward line of Purychisky, Pomerleauchuk, and Tatenov.

Head coach Trischev Mac-Millanov stated that the game was being used as a preparation However, they will have for the big match against the their hands full tomorrow due to Bears hockey team. Coaches for the big match against the the fact that 5 former members of Esdale and Moores were un-

Game time is 4:30.

TOWN of FORT SASKATCHEWAN POOL LIFEGUARD

Employee in this position instructs in aquatic skills and lifesaving practices and monitors swimming pool activities to ensure public safety; promotes good public relations; maintains the operation of the pool to Department of Health standards; works under general supervision. Wages \$5.68 per hour. Hours - Rotating Shift.

Written applications, giving complete resume of education and experience, will be accepted to April 11th, 1980, by the:

Personnel Officer Town of Fort Saskatchewan

10005-102 St. Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta

SUELECTION THE

STUDENTS' UNION ELECTION

NOMINATIONS have been re-opened for the following positions:

University Athletic Board (UAB) Vice-President Women's Athletics

Faculty of Physical Education

1 Students' Council Representative

Faculty of Science

- 3 Students' Council Representatives
- 3 General Faculty Council Representatives
- 12 Science Faculty Council Representatives

For further information, contact the Students' Union Receptionist (Rm 259, SUB) or the Returning Officer, Rm 271, SUB

Nomination Deadline: Tuesday 1 April - 1600 Hr.

