Riel, every name upon that Committee should be honored by all those who prize nobleness of aim and disinterestedness of motives.

ould

and

s not

osts?

ve a

equi-

ot be

men

same

water

say,

vern-

icate.

nents

e set

their

and

, and

dness

aittee

make

e of

Following is the Roll of Honor:

L. O. David, President; Chas. C. Delorimier, 1st Vice-President; R. Préfontaine, 2d Vice-President; Charles Champagne, Secretary; A. E. Poirier, Assistant-Secretary; Jérémie Perrault, Treasurer; J. O. Dupuis, Assistant-Treasurer.

Executive Committee.—R. Laflamme; H. C. St. Pierre; Alphonse Christin; Pierre Rivard; E. L. Ethier; Barney Tansey; E. A. Dérome; Georges Duhamel; Jean-Marie Papineau; G. Phaneuf; J. O. Villeneuve; A. Ouimet, and J.-Bte. Rouillard.

Many other public-spirited men also lent untiring help to the generous movement. Impossible to mention them all, but among the principals are the Honorables Mercier, Beaubien, Amyot, Desjardins, Paquette, Bellerose, Lemieux, Fitzpatrick, Langelier, Pacaud, Cloran of the Montreal Daily Post, Barry, Stevens, McShane, E. Tremblay and A. Globensky.

Unsuccessful to wrest from the Ottawa Cabinet and the Orange faction the life of Louis Riel, and save their country the humiliation of a political gibbet, these men, however, have not left a stone unturned in order to secure their unselfish and noble aim, and they should be honored and praised for their devotion to principles of uprightness and humanity.