

5

PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 14

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE WEDNESDAY, MARCH 14, 1956

The Department of External Affairs announced today that Dr. E. A. Watkinson, Chief Occupational Health Division, Department of National Health and Welfare, will be the Canadian Representative on the United Nations Scientific Committee on Atomic Radiation which begins its discussions today. Dr. Watkinson replaces the late Dr. A. J. Cipriani of the Atomic Energy of Canada Limited. Dr. R. Appleyard of the Biology Division of the Chalk River Project, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, will be Canadian consultant during the discussions.

The Scientific Committee on Atomic Radiation was established on December 3, 1955, by a resolution of the General Assembly which was approved unanimously. The resolution provided for the establishment of a Scientific Committee composed of scientists representing fifteen governments including Canada. Under its terms of reference the Committee will receive and assemble radiological information furnished by States members of the United Nations or of its Specialized Agencies on levels of radiation and on scientific observations and experiments concerning the effects of ionizing radiation upon man and his environment. Yearly progress reports will be made by the Committee which is also called upon to develop by July 1, 1958 or earlier, if this is warranted, a summary of the various reports received.

Dr. Watkinson has been responsible for the development of the Radiation Services of the Department of National Health and Welfare in collaboration with the Atomic Energy Control Board and Atomic Energy of Canada Limited. More recently, Dr. Watkinson has headed the group concerned with the Canadian programme for the study of the possible effects of increasing radiation.

- - - - -