remained subject to that republic, for a period of about 400 years. At the treaty of Campo Formio in 1797, France and Austria divided the territories of the Venetian Republic between themselves, and the former power took possession of the Ionian Islands. In 1799, Ionia was taken possession of jointly by Russia and Turkey; and was shortly after constituted a republic, called that of the "Seven Isles," and placed under the protectorate of Russia by the provisions of the Treaty Ionia was however transferred from of Amiens. Russia to France, by a secret arrangement made in the year 1807. In 1809 Great Britain, then in the full fervour of the war against Napoleon, took possession of all the Ionian Islands with the exception of Corfu, which was surrendered to her by the treaty of 1814. By the provisions of the treaty of 1815, the Ionian Republic was placed under the protectorate of the British Crown, and has remained so ever since.

The total population of the Ionian Islands in 1854, amounted to 229,163; the Ionians retain the physical features of their Greek ancestors in a remarkable degree. The government consists of a lord high commissioner, who is the representative of the British crown; a senate, composed of a president and five members; a legislative assembly of forty members, eleven of these being permanent, while the twentynine others are elected from the class of nobility in the several islands.

proposed with Medical Medical

cons Spa almo turi A. D Sido sessi Eng und Sir

of s

age

amo