Mr. Speaker: I understand the points being made by the Hon. Member for Ottawa-Vanier (Mr. Gauthier) and the Hon. Member for Kamloops-Shuswap (Mr. Riis). I have some serious doubt as to whether the position advanced by either Hon. Member is procedurally correct. In the interests of this place and in the interests of moving with some good grace upon these matters I am, for the moment, going to accept the position that both Hon. Members have taken. We will proceed to a vote on exactly that, the introduction of the Bill. We shall proceed with it immediately.

• (1240)

I wish to say that I will consider the matter with care, which I do not have full time to do at the moment, and will give some reasoned comment on this. I just ask everyone not to take this as necessarily a precedent. However, in the interests of moving ahead with the business of the House and in the interests of satisfying at least for the moment the objection raised by the Opposition, we will proceed with the first motion and we shall proceed with the vote on it at this time. That means that if called for, there will be a second vote.

Hon. John C. Crosbie (Minister for International Trade) moved for leave to introduce a Bill entitled An Act to Implement the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the United States of America.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House that the Hon. Minister shall have leave to introduce the Bill?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: We shall proceed with the vote.

Cooper

Cossitt Crofton

Crosbie

Darling

Domm

Fennell

Ferland

Gervais

Girard

Grisé

Epp

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 365)

YEAS

Gustafson

Hamelin

Hamilton

Hawkes

Horner

James Jardine

Jelinek

Joncas

Kempling

Kilgour

Lanthier

Lavton

Lewis

Lopez

Kindy

Hees Hockin

Members

(Jonquière)
Blais
Blouin
Bosley
Bouchard
Bourgault
Brightwell
Cadieux
Caldwell
Cardiff
Champagne
(Champlain)
Clark
(Yellowhead)
Clark
(Brandon-Souris)
Coates
Collins

Blackburn

(St. John's West) Desjardins (Provencher) Forrestall Gormley Gottselig Graham

Introduction of Bills

Nickerson

Nowlan

MacDonald (Kingston and the Islands) MacKay Martin Mayer Mazankowski McCain McCrossan McCuish McDermid McDougall (St. Paul's) McInnes McKenzie McKinnon McKnight Minaker Mitges Nicholson

(Niagara Falls)

G

Oberle O'Neil Oostrom Peterson Pietz Plourde Price Redway Reimer St. Germain St-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scowen Shields Snarrow Spever Stackhouse Stevens

Thacker Towers Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Vankoughnet Weiner Wilson (Swift Current -Maple Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) Winegard Wise-97

NAYS

Members

Allmand	Gray	McDonald
Althouse	(Windsor West)	(Broadview-
Angus	Grondin	Greenwood)
Axworthy	Guilbault	Murphy
Blaikie	(Saint-Jacques)	Nunziata
Broadbent	Heap	Nystrom
Caccia	Henderson	Orlikow
Cassidy	Hopkins	Ouellet
Copps	Hovdebo	Parry
le Corneille	Isabelle	Penner
Dingwall	Jewett	Prud'homme
Finestone	Kaplan	Riis
Foster	Keeper	Robichaud
Fulton	Langdon	Robinson
Gagliano	MacLellan	Rodriguez
Garneau	Manly	Rompkey
Gauthier	McCurdy	Young-47

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Crosbie moved that the Bill be read the first time and printed.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon, Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. The Chair, of course, is prepared to dispense with the bell, but that will take consent. Is there such consent?

Some Hon, Members: No.