SPECIAL COMMITTEE

Associate Committee on Soil and Snow Mechanics-Conc.

- Mr. Graham Potter, Meteorological Division, Department of Transport, Toronto, Ontario.
- Mr. J. Walter, Ontario Department of Highways, Parliament Buildings, Toronto, Ontario.
- Dr. J. T. Wilson, Department of Geophysics, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario.
- Dr. V. K. Prest, Geological Survey of Canada, Victoria Museum, Ottawa, Ontario.
- Col. R. L. Franklin, Director, Directorate of Vehicle Development, Department of National Defence, Ottawa, Ontario.
- Mr. N. D. Lea,

Assistant to the Vice-President, Foundation of Canada Engineering Corp., Ltd., 200 Bloor Street, E., Toronto, Ontario. Mr. George Jacobsen, President, Tower Company Limited, 1509 Mackay Street, Montreal, Que.

Dr. Svenn Orvig, Director, Montreal Office, Arctic Institute of North America, 3485 University Street, Montreal, Que.

- Mr. R. Peterson,
 Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration,
 505 Canada Building,
 Saskatoon, Sask.
- Mr. J. L. Wickwire, Chief Engineer, Department of Highways, Halifax, N.S.
- Mr. W. J. Eden, Secretary, Division of Building Research, National Research Council, Ottawa, Ontario.

The Associate Committee on Soil and Snow Mechanics was initiated in 1945 to study military track problems. After the war the Associate Committee became a co-ordinating body for research on various aspects of the terrain of Canada. The Committee's activities are now centred in four major fields: soil mechanics, snow and ice research, muskeg, and permafrost. Four subcommittees have been set up, each dealing with one of these particular fields. A fifth subcommittee, closely allied to the Soil Mechanics Subcommittee, deals with problems relating to Canadian landslides.

Associate Committee on Survey Research

Members

Mr. R. H. Field, Chairman, Division of Physics, National Research Council, Ottawa, Ontario.

- S/L L. R. Pattee, Royal Canadian Air Force, Department of National Defence, Ottawa, Ontario.
- Mr. W. H. Miller, Surveys and Mapping Bureau, Department of Mines and Technical Surveys, Ottawa, Ontario.

Mr. G. W. Rowley, Defence Research Board, Department of National Defence, Ottawa, Ontario.

- Lieut.-Col. C. H. Smith, Army Survey Establishment, R.C.E., Department of National Defence, Ottawa, Ontario.
- Dr. L. G. Turnbull, Secretary, Division of Physics, National Research Council, Ottawa, Ontario.