A Message was received from the Honourable R. G. B. Dickson, Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada, acting as Deputy Governor General, desiring the immediate attendance of the House in the Senate Chamber.

Accordingly, Mr. Speaker went with the House to the Senate Chamber.

And being returned;

Mr. Speaker reported that when the House did attend the Honourable the Deputy Governor General in the Senate Chamber, His Honour was pleased to give, in Her Majesty's name, the Royal Assent to the following Bills:

Bill C-44, An Act to amend the Senate and House of Commons Act, the Salaries Act and the Parliamentary Secretaries Act.—Chapter No. 44.

Bill C-34, An Act to amend the Farm Credit Act.—Chapter No. 45.

Bill C-367, An Act to amend the Fort-Falls Bridge Authority Act.—Chapter No. 46.

Debate was resumed on the motion of Mr. Sharp for Mr. Turner (Ottawa-Carleton), seconded by Mr. Faulkner,—That Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act, be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Broadcasting, Films and Assistance to the Arts.

After further debate, by unanimous consent, the debate was adjourned.

Bill C-19, An Act to provide for payments in respect of wheat produced and sold in Canada for human consumption in Canada was read the third time and passed.

The House resumed the adjourned debate on the motion of Mr. Sharp for Mr. Turner (Ottawa-Carleton), seconded by Mr. Faulkner,—That Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act, be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Broadcasting, Films and Assistance to the Arts.

And debate continuing;

(Proceedings on Adjournment Motion)

At 10.00 o'clock p.m., the question "That this House do now adjourn" was deemed to have been proposed pursuant to Standing Order 40(1);

After debate the question was deemed to have been adopted.

Changes in Committee Membership

Notice having been filed with the Clerk of the House pursuant to Standing Order 65(4)(b), membership of Committees was amended as follows:

Messrs. Whittaker and Neil for Messrs. Cadieu and La Salle on the Standing Committee on Agriculture.

Messrs. Lachance, Philbrook and Lee for Messrs. Cullen, Comtois and Martin on the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs.

Messrs. Caccia, Loiselle (Saint-Henri), Lessard, Flynn, Douglas (Bruce-Grey) and Hnatyshyn for Messrs. Stollery and Rompkey, Mrs. Appolloni and Messrs. Parent, Dupont and Halliday on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

Mr. Halliday for Mr. Hnatyshyn on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

Mr. Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) for Mr. Côté on the Standing Committee on Miscellaneous Estimates.

Mr. Isabelle for Mr. Clermont on the Special Joint Committee on Employer-Employee Relations in the Public Service.

Mr. Brisco for Mr. Jelinek on the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs.

Mr. Alkenbrack for Mr. Mazankowski on the Standing Committee on National Resources and Public Works.

Mr. Carter for Mr. Smith (Churchill) on the Standing Committee on Fisheries and Forestry.

Messrs. Neil, Nielsen and Smith (Churchill) for Messrs. Malone, Cadieu and Elzinga on the Standing Committee on Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

At 10.30 o'clock p.m., the House adjourned until tomorrow at 11.00 o'clock a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 2(1).