

Location:

Occupies the territorial expanse of northern North America, bordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the east coast, the Pacific Ocean on the west coast, the Arctic Ocean on its northern coast and by the United States on its southern border. Most of the population lives within 160 km of the border shared with the U.S.

Land Area:

9.2 million square kilometres

Population:

29.2 million

Growth Rate:

1.3%/year (av. 1990-1994)

Main Cities:

Toronto, pop. 3.9 million Montreal, pop. 3.1 million Vancouver, pop. 1.6 million. Ottawa-Hull, pop. 921,000 **Edmonton**, pop. 840,000 Calgary, pop. 754,000 Winnipeg, pop. 652,000

Quebec City, pop. 646,000 Hamilton, pop. 598,000 London, pop. 382,000

St. Catharines - Niagara, pop. 365,000

Kitchener, pop. 356,000 Halifax, pop. 321,000

Victoria, pop. 288,000 Windsor, pop. 262,000 Oshawa, pop. 240,000 Saskatoon, pop. 210,000 Regina, pop. 192,000

St. John's, pop. 172,000 Chicoutimi-Jonquiere, pop. 161,000

Sudbury, pop. 158,000 Sherbrooke, pop. 139,000 Trois Rivieres, pop. 136,000 Saint John, pop. 125,000 Thunder Bay, pop. 124,000

Political Structure:

Constitutional monarchy; democratic government; federation of ten provinces and two northern territories.

Prime Minister: Hon. Jean Chretien **Currency:** Canadian dollar.

Climate: A diverse climate, from Arctic in the north to temperate in the southwest; the 200-kilometre band along the

southern border, where most Canadians live, varies from continental in the western Prairie provinces to Atlantic maritime in the east, but has four distinct seasons with winter lasting generally about four months.

Two official languages — English and French; English is the predominate language in every province except

Languages: Quebec, where the majority speak French.

Measures: Metric

Time: Six time zones; the most easterly, Newfoundland standard time is 3 hours and 30 minutes behind Coordinated

Universal Time (UTC); Pacific standard time, the most westerly, is 8 hours behind UTC.