- Naturalization and Aliens-Under exclusive control of General Government, 91 (25).
- Naval Service—Under exclusive control of General Government, 91 (7).
- Navigation and Shipping-Under exclusive control of General Government, 91 (10).
- New Brunswick—Retains its present limits, 7, and Executive Authority, 64. Its Legislature, 88. Courts, Commissions, Officers, &c., 29.
- ——Appropriation and Tax Bills The provisions applicable to Parliament, 53, 54, apply to Provinces, 90. Assets—See Allowances to Provinces. Her lumber dues are retained, 124. (Repealed by New Brunswick Act, 36 Vic., c. 17—Subsidy allowed therefor, Canada Act, 36 Vic., c. 41.) Her Public Property not disposed of by Union Act, is retained, subject to be taken when required for Fortifications or Defence, 117.
- Newfoundland—May be admitted into the Union by the Queen in Council, on Addresses of the Houses of Parliament and of the Houses of its own Legislature, 146, 147. When admitted, it will be entitled to four representatives in the Senate, 147.—Negociations therefor in 1869—Sessional Papers, No. 51. 2 Senate Journal, 184. 2 Commons Journal, 187, 205, 215.
- Normal Number of Senators, 21, 147.
- Normal Schools-Property of Ontario and Quebec, 113. See 4th Schedule.
- North Western Territory—May be admitted into the Union, on Address from Houses of Parliament, 146. (For terms of transfer and sale to Canada—See Sessional Papers of 1869, No. 25. Provisional Government established by Canada Act, 32 & 33 Vic., c. 3—
 Transferred by Imperial Act, 31 & 32 Vic., c. 105—Forms part of Canada since 15th July, 1870. For Orders in Council, &c.—See Statutes of Canada of 1872, p. 1xii)—See also Manitoba and Kewatin