Division

Postal Union took place in Tokyo in 1969 and the next will not take place until 1974. However, the new Acts of the Universal Postal Union Congress will become effective July 1, 1971 and the new convention will contain provisions for compensating postal administrations, like Canada, which receive more mail than they despatch. The compensation rate authorized by the Tokyo Congress is 8 cents per pound calculated on the imbalance of traffic. This rate is far too low to cover actual costs, but it is under review in the Universal Postal Union and hopefully will be set at a more realistic level by the next congress in 1974. These provisions will also apply to our imbalance of traffic with the United States. I can add that some officials of my department will be in Washington on Monday to discuss the question of the imbalance of traffic with the United States with their counterparts in an effort to obtain a new agreement in this area.

Now, a word about what has been happening with respect to those groups and associations which have asked to be excluded from the effects of the increase in third class rates on the ground that this is so vital a matter to them. They appreciate the problem involved, but think a solution can be found. They also realize that a similar problem is being faced in the United States with respect to this class of mail, and that the post office there is looking for a way of reducing these losses. But I will have an answer for these people before the end of the debates which are now taking place.

In closing, I want to say that in my department priority is being placed on service and I believe we are now giving Canadians the kind of service they deserve.

The House divided on the motion which was agreed to on the following division:

• (5:30 p.m.)

YEAS

Anderson Barrett Basford Béchard Beer Benson Blouin Breau Buchanan Caccia Cafik Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Comtois Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Cullen Cyr Danson

Deachman

Deakon

Dupras

Duquet

Émard

Forest

Forget

Faulkner

Dubé

Messrs: Foster Francis Gendron Gervais Gibson Gillespie Gray Guay (St. Boniface) Guilbault Haidasz Hymmen Jerome Kaplan Laflamme Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Langlois Laniel Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Loiselle MacGuigan McBride McIlraith McNulty Mahoney Major

Marceau

[Mr. Côté (Longueuil).]

Messrs:

Smith (Saint-Jean) Marchand (Langelier) Stafford Morison Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) Munro St. Pierre Noël O'Connell Sullivan Tolmie Penner Trudeau Pepin Trudel Prud'homme Turner (London East) Reid Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Richardson Walker Roberts Watson Robinson Weatherhead Roy (Laval) Whicher Serré Yanakis-88 Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi)

NAYS

Messrs:

MacDonald (Egmont) Aiken MacInnis (Mrs.) Alkenbrack MacLean Asselin Macquarrie Barnett Beaudoin McCleave McCutcheon Bell Broadbent McGrath Marshall Burton Mazankowski Cadieu Moore Comeau Murta Crouse Neshitt. Dionne Noble Downey Paproski Forrestall Fortin Peddle Peters Gilbert Gleave Ricard Ritchie Godin Rodrigue Grills Rondeau Gundlock Rose Hales Ryan Harkness Rynard Howe Knowles (Winnipeg Saltsman North Centre) Schumacher Scott Korchinski Skoberg Lambert (Bellechasse) Skorevko Lambert Stanfield (Edmonton West) Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson La Salle Latulippe (Battleford-Kindersley) Winch Lewis Lundrigan Woolliams-64.

• (5:50 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Bill read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

BUSINESS OF THE HOUSE

Mr. Jerome: Perhaps I could give the business of the House for Friday, which had originally been agreed upon to be an opposition day. Since that agreement has been changed, Friday will be a government day. We will commence on Friday with The Canada Development Corporation, followed by the Prairie Grain Advance Payments Act and subsequently the Judges Act. This will be the schedule for Friday. Subject to a further meeting of