No. 1

JOURNALS

OF THE

HOUSE OF COMMONS

OF CANADA

OTTAWA, MONDAY, 12th MAY, 1958.

11.00 o'clock a.m.

Today being the first day of the meeting of the First Session of the Twenty-fourth Parliament for the despatch of business, Léon-J. Raymond, Esquire, O.B.E., Clerk of the House of Commons, Thomas Russel Montgomery, Esquire, Clerk Assistant of the House of Commons, and Lieutenant-Colonel William John Franklin, M.C., V.D., Sergeant-at-Arms of the House of Commons, Commissioners appointed per dedimus potestatem for the purpose of administering the oath to Members of the House of Commons, all attending according to their duty, the said Léon-J. Raymond, Esquire, O.B.E., laid upon the Table a List of the Members returned to serve in this Parliament received by him as Clerk of the House of Commons from and certified under the hand of N. Castonguay, Esquire, Chief Electoral Officer. The said certificate and List is as follows:

TWENTY-FOURTH GENERAL ELECTION

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

This is to certify that since the dissolution of the Twenty-third Parliament on the first day of February, 1958, writs of election were issued on the same date by His Excellency the Governor in Council for the election of a member or members to serve in the House of Commons for every electoral district in Canada, such writs being severally addressed to the returning officers mentioned in the attached list and directing that, with the undermentioned exceptions, the nomination of candidates be held on the seventeenth day of March, 1958, and the poll, if required, on the thirty-first day of March, 1958. In the electoral districts of Cochrane, Kenora-Rainy River, Port Arthur, Chapleau, Saguenay, Bonavista-Twillingate, Burin-Burgeo, Grand Falls-White Bay-Labrador, Humber-St. George's, Trinity-Conception, Churchill, Mackenzie, Meadow Lake, Prince Albert, Athabasca, Jasper-Edson, Peace River, Cariboo, Skeena, Yukon, and Mackenzie River, the nomination of candidates was held on the third day of March, 1958.