

٨

## P R E S S' R E L E A S E

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

No 22

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 15, 1951

usa

The Department of External Affairs announsed today that the Canada-United Kingdom Continuing Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs will meet in Ottawa beginning May 21, 1951.

The Canadian representatives will be:

Mr. W.F. Eull, Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Mr. J.G. Taggart, Deputy Minister of Agriculture.

Mr. J.J. Deutsch, Director, International Economic Relations, Department of Finance.

Mr. A.F.W. Plumptre, Head of the Economic Division, Department of External Affairs.

The United Kingdom representatives at the meeting will be:

Sir Alexander Clutterbuck, High Commissioner of the United Kingdom in Ottawa.

Sir John Woods, Permanent Secretary, Board of Trade. Sir Frank Lee, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Food. Mr. R.W. B. Clarke, Under-Secretary, Treasury.

The committee was established in September 1948 for liaison between official representatives of Canada and the United Kingdom on commercial and economic matters of mutual concern, and especially on measures to ensure the greatest trade possible between the two countries. The functions of the committee are purely advisory. The most recent meetings of this committee were in Ottawa, September 1949, and in London, June 1950.