

(Copy—Treaty 132—Indian Office.)

ARTICLES OF A TREATY made and concluded this third day of October, in the year of Our Lord One thousand eight hundred and seventy-three, between Her Most Gracious Majesty the Queen, of Great Britain and Ireland, by Her Commissioners, the Honorable Alexander Morris, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Manitoba and the North-west Territories; Joseph Albert Norbert Provencher, and Simon James Dawson, of the one part; and the Saulteaux Tribe of the Ojibbeway Indians, inhabitants of the Country within the limits hereinafter defined and described by their Chiefs, chosen and named as hereinafter mentioned, of the other part:—

WHEREAS the Indians inhabiting the said country have, pursuant to an appointment made by the said Commissioners, been convened at a meeting at the North-West angle of the Lake of the Woods, to deliberate upon certain matters of interest to

Her Most Gracious Majesty, of the one part, and the said Indians of the other;

AND WHEREAS the said Indians have been notified and informed by Her Majesty's said Commissioners that it is the desire of Her Majesty to open up for settlement, immigration, and such other purposes as to Her Majesty may seem meet, a tract of country bounded and described as hereinafter mentioned, and to obtain the consent thereto of Her Indian subjects inhabiting the said tract, and to make a Treaty and arrange with them, so that there may be peace and good will between them and Her Majesty, and that they may know and be assured of what allowance they are to count upon and receive

from Her Majesty's bounty and benevolence:-

And Whereas, the Indians of the said Tract, duly convened in Council as aforesaid, and being requested by Her Majesty's said Commissioners to name certain Chiefs and headmen, who should be authorized on their behalf to conduct such negotiations and sign any Treaty to be founded thereon, and to become responsible to Her Majesty for their faithful performance of their respective Bands of such obligations as shall be assumed by them, the said Indians have thereupon named the following persons for that purpose, that is to say :-Kee-tak-pay-pi-nais (Rainy River), Kitihi-gay-kake (Rainy River), Note-naqua-hung (North-West Angle), Mawe-do-pe-nais (Rainy River), Pow-wa-sang (North-West Angle), Canda-com-igo-wi-ninie (North-West Angle), Pa-pa-ska-gin River), May-no-wah-tau-ways-kung (North West Angle), Kitchi-ne-ka-be-han (Rainy River), Sah-katch-eway (Lake Seul), Muka-day-wah-sin (Kettle Falls), Me-kie-sies (Rainy Lake, Fort Francis), Oos-con-na-geist (Rainy Lake), Wah shis-kince (Eagle Lake), Rah-kie-y-ash (Flower Lake), Go-bay (Rainy Lake), Ka-me-ti-ash (White Fish Lake), Nee-sho-tal (Rainy River), Kee-jee-go-kay (Rainy River), Sha-sha-gance (Shoal Lake), Shah-win-na-bi-nais (Shoal Lake), Ay-ash-a-wash (Buffalo Point), Pay-ah-bee-wash (White Fish Bay), Rah-tay-tay-pa-o-cutch (Lake of the Woods).

And thereupon in open council the different Bands having presented their Chiefs to the said Commissioners as the Chiefs and headmen for the purposes aforesaid of the re-

spective Bands of Indians inhabiting the said district hereinafter described.

And whereas the said Commissioners then and there received and acknowledged thepersons so presented as Chiefs and headmen for the purposes aforesaid of the respective Bands of Indians inhabiting the said district hereinafter described;